1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

upgrading my old dell 4600

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by defjukie, Jun 22, 2007.

1. defjukie

defjukie Member

hey this is my first post on this board so take it easy on me. Anyway i've recently gotten into modding my old dell 4600 and have been ordering parts bit by bit until I can scrap the whole thing. I got 2 1gig sticks of crucial 3200 but they will only run at 333 for some reason. I got a few new fans and new disk drives. I just got a new ultra 500w x-connect to replace the 250w dell ps and for some reason even though the fans and drives all work my computer wont boot up and just flashes lights at me.. the old power supply still works and i think it has something to do with the pent4 power cable but i'm a newb i guess so who knows. also i wanted to know if i can upgrade the motherboard without having to buy a new win xp disk or new key for the one i have. so if i could get any feedback on any of the many issues listed i'd appreciate it. Thanks.

2. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member

3. defjukie

defjukie Member