1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

used read buffer problem

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by sbga01, Jan 31, 2008.

1. sbga01

sbga01 Member

Hey I recently put a new SATA hard drive in my computer but I didnt hook up the power because I am waiting for my power supply adapter to come. Ever since I did this, nero's used read buffer is dropping when burning discs. Do you think the HD has anything to do with it or is my burner going bad??

2. gurnard

gurnard Regular member

hi :)

no it won't be recognised by your pc until you power it up.

check that your drives are still in Ultra DMA MODE and has not dropped into PIO mode

3. sbga01

sbga01 Member

how do I go about this? sorry, Im a newb when it comes to hardware

4. varnull

varnull Guest

How To Enable DMA For Windows XP

Direct Memory Access. (DMA) is set for the Primary IDE Channel and the Secondary IDE Channel. Each Channel allows us to have two devices connected for a total of four devices. These devices can be a combination of Hard Disk Drives, CD Rom Drives, CDRW Drives, DVD Drives and Tape Backup Drives etc. Therefore, if both channels are set for DMA access, then all the devices in your system will be set to use DMA.

For Windows XP

1. Go into your Control Panel by first clicking on the Start Button.
    2. Then click on the Control Panel icon located in the right column of the Start Menu.
    3. If your Start Menu is set to the Classic View, then begin by clicking on the Start Button.
    4. Then click on Settings, then click on the Control Panel icon to open up the Control Panel.
    5. Now, Double click on the System icon to open up the System Properties window.
    6. Now click on the Hardware tab located at the top of the screen.
    7. Then click on the Device Manager button in the center area of the screen.
    8. Now click on the plus sign [+] next to the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers to expand that section.