1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using Nero Vision Express to burn avi. with srt subtitles?

Discussion in 'Subtitle help' started by retrophan, Dec 24, 2005.

1. retrophan

retrophan Member

hi im very new to this board, and i was wondering how i can i burn this avi. video i have with .srt. subtitles. IM tryint to use nero vision express. Is there any way for me to input the subtitles into the movie and burn it? any help will do. thanks in advance.

2. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

To just burn you don't need NVE, you can just use burning rom. To convert with subs using NVE you would have to hard encode since I don't think it supports subtitles streams.

3. retrophan

retrophan Member

by hard encode what do you mean? im very new to this. thanks.

4. hkm

hkm Guest

To retrophan:

"Hard coded" simply means you will always see the subtitles and can't switch them off they're burned into the video -- "switchable" meaning you can turn them on or off.

5. retrophan

retrophan Member

^ thanks for the response. ok im ready for the hard encode than. any special softwares i should use? thanks

6. hkm

hkm Guest

To retrophan: nope, nothing else needed. Like the OP said, no need to use NVE - just regular Nero should do the trick. Just be SURE that the video file & the SRT subtitle file have **exactly** the same base name, capitalized exactly the same, and in the same folder [good to keep everything else out of this folder as well.]

Example:

MyMovie.AVI
    MyMovie.SRT

If you had named your SRT as say My-Movie.SRT many apps wouldn't recognize it.

Also you'll need to select the output format - I'm assuming you'll be doing a DVD to play on most standalone DVD players? If so, Nero will guide you thru this process. Otherwise, you could create an SDVCD assuming you'd want this, meaning if the video is short enough it'll fit onto a standard CD (700meg).