1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

very new to computing help neede to put 8mm onto disc

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by prmiaj, May 24, 2004.

1. prmiaj

prmiaj Member

I am very new to computing, but would like to put the videos of children as babies onto my computer so I can put them onto dvd disc so I can keep them forever. I have a 2 year old computer with I think a pentium 4. I run XP. My video camera is a Sony Handycam vision CCD-TRV59E PAL. I have normal 8mm tapes and some HI 8 tapes. Is there anyone out there who can take me through the fools guide step by step?
    I would really appreciate any help you can give.
    Thanks
    Ruth

2. whassup

whassup Regular member

I'm not familiar with that camcorder model but I'm assuming it has the FireWire (or Sony calls it i.Link) plug?

If so, you'll have to get a Firewire adaptor for your computer (if it doesn't already have it) and the appropriate software. A lot of adaptors come pre-packaged with some software which isn't too bad.

Once you have the software, the "help" menus will teach you how to capture, edit, etc.

3. prmiaj

prmiaj Member

Thank you for replying. Please can you tell me what a firewire adaptor is? I have usb ports on the front of my computer is it anything to do with them?

4. shraven

shraven Guest

Firewire is different from a USB port. Your computer will probably not have one. An add-in card should cost you less than $20. (My prices are US dollars, I gather you're not in the US if you're using PAL, but most of this will be the same regardless.)