1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VHS to DVD conversion

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by DGuy360, Mar 9, 2005.

1. DGuy360

DGuy360 Member

Hello folks and thanks for any help you might offer. I’ve been ripping and burning DVD’s for a couple of years and have accumulated an arsenal of weapons which never let me down, even with little surprises like “Little Black Book” and “Resident Evil”. Now what seems pretty basic, VHS to DVD conversion, has got me stumped. I have nearly 300 deteriorating commercial VHS that I’d like to preserve to DVD. I have no problem with the capture, and am pleased with the quality of the resulting MPEG2 files. The next step of converting to vob, ifo, and bup in a video_ts folder is what’s creating the gray(er) hair. I’ve used Roxio (came with the Plextor burner), and Power Director (came with the capture card). Both offer to let me write to the HD, where I could then use Shrink and CopytoDVD, but the Power Director insists on taking the 11+ GB of MPEG2 files from Saving Private Ryan (for example) and compressing to 4.3 GB for a DVD, even though I’m writing to a fast and nearly empty 200 GB drive. The Roxio grinds away to probably about the 9 GB mark, and then GoBack shuts down the system. I’ve looked through many strings throughout this site, but have yet to find any answers that work for this situation. Is there a step by step recommendation and/or recommended utils to successfully accomplish this??

Thanks!!

2. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member

Power Director thinks you're making a DVD5, thus it's re-encoding.
    A dual layer DVD9 is Roxio's limit, thus it craps out.
    What you need to do, is:
    a) Capture at a lower bitrate, or
    b) Cut the mpeg into workable portions, or
    c) Author in something that will go beyond the 9 gig limit, then use DVDShrink to fit to size.