1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VHS to DVD

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by khatley, Nov 29, 2004.

1. khatley

khatley Guest

Hey guys I am new to this and need some help. My wife has asked me to convert several VHS tapes to DVD and I do not know what software to use. I have already played around with capturing and have successfully captured a few tapes by hooking the vcr up to my All in Wonder card. Now what is the best software for transfering it to DVD? I would like the simplest option for capturing and creating chapters in the DVD...it does not have to be top quality, just want to use DVD so we can easily find what we are looking for and I fell me comfortable having the tapes stored on a disk.

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Moved to appropriate forum :)

3. abhim89

abhim89 Guest

Do you have a DVD burner? What video format are you converting the VHS tapes to?

4. khatley

khatley Guest

Yes I have a DVD burner. I have created two types of files, one from the analog source are .wmv files and .avi files from my mini DV camcorder

5. khatley

khatley Guest

Looks like the new NERO will do everything I need, can I get a confirmation if that is the case?

6. abhim89

abhim89 Guest

Yeah, Nero looks like a good option. Make sure you have NeroVision Express (used to convert the avi files, i don't know if it does wmv) and nero/nero express to burn the dvd standard files. (I'm not sure if Nero includes NeroVision). See if that works.

7. GrandpaBW

GrandpaBW Active member

khatley, Nero will allow you to do editing, but its interface is extremely poor. I use Roxio EMC7, but that is just a personal choice. I also have Nero.

Also, if at all possible, capture everything to an avi file. They are large files, but you get a better quality video than if you capture to mpeg2.

8. stardust

stardust Regular member