1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VHStoDVD w/ ConvertX M402U

Discussion in 'User submitted guides' started by pfh, Feb 14, 2005.

1. pfh

pfh Guest

I wrote this guide to help one newbie to another. I am not an expert by any stretch. I’m a person like the thousands of others who has invested a considerable amount of money in a VHS collection and is watching it’s slow demise into the technology graveyard. Once the price of DVD RW drives dropped you’re probably like me and saw an opportunity to finally do something with those VHS tapes. You might also remember a time when you didn’t “do anything” with that LP collection but that’s another ball game!
    So then, this is just a basic guide of my transfer method and what I found to work for my set up. Even though you may use different equipment the principles applied here should work for you.
    For my method I chose to use the Plextor PX-M402U ConvertX as my capture device giving me an external hardware based encoding solution for Mpeg 1/2/4 and Divx. Installation was easy as installing included software and plugging in the ConvertX to a USB port. I would recommend using a "primary" usb port- those that are nearest to your keyboard and mouse ports. This gives you the best I/O and less chance of I/O errors. My VCR is a basic JVC model no. HR-VP673U. [bold]I have since purcahsed a new JVC 9911 vcr- it has s-video and line TBC[/bold] The PC I’m using is one I built. Basic specs are: WinXP Home w/ sp2, Athlon 2500 (Barton core), 1gig Corsair value ram, Gigabyte 7VT600 main board, ATI 9800 pro video card, Sound Blaster Audigy, 2 internal 40 gig HD’s and 1 external 40 gig HD. My DVD RW is a NEC 2510a and the only DVD medium I’ve used are DVD-R by Fujifilm. No coasters except thru my own errors. This is good media.