1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Video capture / Audio Sync issue...

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by Selvenis, Mar 22, 2005.

1. Selvenis

Selvenis Member

Hello All - I will try and provide as much info. as possible. I am very new to this - and I am just learning the ropes of video capture / encoding / authoring and burning. What I am trying to do is to capture T.V. programs off my satellite dish and burn them to DVD.

My Setup:
    ---------
    Hardware
    ---------
    PIII 800 MHz
    768 Mb Ram
    32 Mb ATI ALL-IN-WONDER 128 PRO (PCI)

---------
    Software
    ---------
    InterVideo WinDVR 3 (mpeg capture)
    TMPGEPnc DVD Author 1.6 (author & burn)

InterVideo Capture Settings:
    Res: 352 x 240
    Bitrate: 3200 b / sec.
    Audio: 384kb

At these settings I get a fairly good capture...most of the time the audio is fairly well in sync with the video...but from time to time the audio & video go out of sync. Which...as you all know can be very annoying when your watching a movie. (LOL) From what I have read InterVideo WinDVR 3 is fairly good at mpeg capture...so I'm thinking that my PIII 800 Mhz might be a little slow - but I'm trying to tweak settings to get the best possible end result using the hardware that I have. Can any of the Experts offer some advice?

I have also downloaded VirtualVCR - but I haven't tried this route yet, because I am trying to avoid having to convert from AVI to MPEG2. (to save time) I have Vegas 4.0 & Roxio 7 - so I assume that either of these packages could be used to do the job. Would this be a better option for my setup? as I believe it is less CPU intensive to capture AVI - as there is no compression done on the fly like with MPEG2?

If anyone can offer me some info / advice ... I am trying to learn as much about this stuff as I possibly can.

Thanks in Advance...

2. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member