1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vinyl to CD

Discussion in 'Audio' started by diabolos, Apr 18, 2005.

1. diabolos

diabolos Guest

Sup fellow AD members,

I need to know what would be a good amp to use between my Sony turntable and my (PC) sound card. I am trying (if you havn't guessed it already) to convert my moms old 33s to CDs. I got all the cords and software and stuff I just need a little amplification. The sig is really low. I'll admit I'm a noob when it comes to turntables. I though the pre-amp would be a lot more powerfull (at least as powerfull as todays CD players). Any suggetstions or past experience are welcome!

Thankz for readin,
    Ced

2. djscoop

djscoop Active member

so do you have any type of receiver? or are you looking to get just a pre amp for the turntable? For me, I use a Kenwood receiver just to boost the phono signal to line level, then take the record out from the receiver into my MBOX.

3. diabolos

diabolos Guest

Man I was hoping to not have to shell-out for a reciever. But I guess it will be worth it in the long run. Whats an "MBox"?

Thankz for replying,
    Ced

4. diabolos

diabolos Guest

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 19, 2005
  5. djscoop

djscoop Active member

yeah the MBOX is a USB Powered audio interface for Pro Tools. Yeah for everyday stuff its way overkill. Its the industry leading audio recording/editing system. I just have the luxury of using it because I teach Pro Tools and have used it for about 6 years now. Its actually not that much...$500 for an MBOX and Pro Tools is a damn good deal. But as long as you have a decent soundcard it should sound fine.