1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VirtualDub AVI splitting

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by Hattrick, Jun 7, 2002.

1. Hattrick

Hattrick Member

Question regarding burning AVI's to CD. I'm a newbie, and I follow the instructions for Virtual Dub for splitting my AVI's to a 'T'. However, for several movies, after I attempt to open the file to split it, the following message is received, "Virtual Dub has detected an improper VBR audio encoding in the source AVI file and will rewrite the audio header with standard CBR values during processing for better compatibility. This may introduce up to 14312 ms of skew from the video stream. If this is unacceptable, decompress the *entire* audio stream to an uncompressed WAV file and recompress with a constant bitrate encoder. (bitrate:131.4+/-9.8 kbps)". The first time I got this message, I just accepted it and I got poor sync between my video and audio on the copy. I guess this is what's meant by the "skew" mentioned above? Anywho, I know next to nothing about decompressing and recompressing with a bitrate encoder. Is there a step by step way I can fix this problem so even an idiot like myself can split these large AVI files to burn onto 2 CD's? Thanks.

2. dRD

dRD I hate titles Staff Member

Open the video with VirtualDub, select Save WAV and then re-encode the WAV into CBR MP3 using LAME.

Or alternatively, get a tool called NanDub, which is a modified version of VirtualDub, and use it to split the AVI. It's only real use at the moment (it's been developed mostly for DivX3 encoding) is the fact that you can split video files with VBR MP3s as it accepts more audio formats than VirtualDub.

3. Murasaki

Murasaki Member

Open the avi file in VirtualDub. Set the Vidio to direct stream copy. The go to Audio, AVI audio, check full processing mode. Then hit compression. Then Save AVI & use the new AVI to split.

4. Hattrick

Hattrick Member