1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

virtualdub

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by StillTry, Jan 14, 2002.

1. StillTry

StillTry Member

Ok Guys, I'm still learning this software so go easy on me.

My Problem is the audio doesnt match the video... It's slow by like 5 seconds. I followed the instructions to split the Divx to a smaller size to fit on a cd but can't fiqure out if it's my lack of knowledge or my computer that is causing this.

Anybody have any ideas for me to try?

2. dRD

dRD I hate titles Staff Member

The audio was out of sync even before you split the file? And is it already out of sync in the beginning of the movie? And does the gap increase when going towards the end of the movie?

3. StillTry

StillTry Member

The original file is right on target. However when I split it becomes out of sync. This 5 seconds does not increase towards the end.

Is there a way to seperate the wav file from the movie and then add it?

4. dRD

Sounds pretty weird that audio gets out of synch when splitting the file. Did you use keyframe position to split the file?

And does the gap increase in the split file when you go towards the end (== is the video framerate/speed different than the audio framerate/speed) or is it just constantly 5secs off (==source displacement).

Is it is the latter, open the "corrupted" file and click CTRL+I. For the preload box put either positive or negative values, depending on your synch issue (audio comes first or video comes first). Then save the file again. This needs lots of trial and error testing, but it helps.

5. Taff

Taff Guest

I'm getting exactly the same problem. It's only with one AVI which plays perfect in it's original form, but once split with VirtualDub (1.4.8)the video/sound sync is lost. Any idea's would be great. Is there any other software I could use to try splitting it?

6. dRD

Did you split the file using keyframes?