1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virus infestation problem

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by Kafka, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Here is a PDF users manual for netcomm router -> HERE!

    Don't know if it's the model you have but the settings should be the same though...
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2013
  2. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Thanks. I am having trouble opening PDF documents, all I get is a blank tab. Perhaps I uninstalled something I shouldn't have. I am presently reinstalling the Adobe Reader. In the meantime, I am still finding that Avast is switched off. I have tried turning it on via Action Centre but without success. Previously I was able to turn it on but it would switch itself off without warning.
     
  3. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Do not use Adobe Reader. Uninstall it and download and install -> SumatraPDF
    It’s easier and Safer to use.

    2oG
     
  4. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I removed Adobe Reader and installed Sumatra PDF but I still can't open the PDF Users Manual from your link. All I get is a blank tab.
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,273
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    143
    wait a bit after you click on that manual link as did same to me but will appear as is 62 pages long.
     
  6. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    I have Firefox set to always ask me where to save downloads and that link opens windows explorer for me to choose.

    Is your router working as far as getting the internet ok? And is my little hacker sign still showing your real IP address?[​IMG]

    p.s. that link does open a blank screen. Have you looked in your downloads folder to see if it went in there? it don't take it long to download for me, just a few seconds..
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2013
  7. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    You might search for it. The name of the file is: NB14-SERIES-USER-MANUAL
     
  8. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    I am really concerned about your AV turning off.. You may have a rootkit that I can't see from the logs I have and most of the programs that I normally use are not compatable with Win 8, yet...

    I'm looking and hopefully can come up with something that we can use.

    You were very unprotected and were downloading a ton of stuff that is known to bring in malware...

    Let us know if you get any Joy out of that router...
     
  9. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I have managed to set up the router so that I can get the internet through it. I have also set up the Wifi successfully, however I am still bamboozled by the router's security settings and firewall. I don't know which of the options to select (and their are quite a few). I plan to get help from NetComm's support line on Monday (It only operates during business hours). I managed to read the manual but still don't understand the options.

    Regarding the AV, it's a bit of a mystery to me. Windows 8 Action Centre tells me that both Defender and Avast are switched off and won't let me turn either one one. Avast itself tells me that my computer is secured and all shields are active.
     
  10. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    You are OK! I'm sorry, my sometimers is kicking in... Windows will not monitor the new Avast but it's on if you got the Avast icon in your tray. It's telling you it's on so don't pay attention to Action Center...

    Sorry I forgot that....[​IMG]

    p.s. leave your defender off....
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2013
  11. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    To check your router firewall:
    Turn your Windows Firewall off, then go to this is a link to "Shields up". https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 This will scan your firewall, and tell you if you're vulnerable or not. All ports should come up as "stealth". If all ports come up as stealth, your firewall is fine. Click proceed in the center of the homepage. then on the next page, click on "All Service Ports". That will start the scan.
    They should all come up “Green”= Stealth. Also click the big orange button to check your routers security..
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2013
  12. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I scanned my firewall on ShieldsUp and was told that "The equipment at the target IP adress did not respond to our UPnP Probes (I think it said probes)"

    I checked the ports and they all showed in green (stealth). None were open and a couple were closed. although Unsolicited Packets and Ping Echo passed, Solicited TCP Packets failed.

    I ran WhatIsMyIPAddress and found that it still shows my IP address and IP, though it did not detect any services. I am not sure what this means.
     
  13. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    This is good I hope they can answer some questions and help you set it up..

    That’s good, sounds like the router may have a Stateful Packet Inspection (SPI) Firewall. I always look for that in a router before buying.


    Closed ports don’t show green, only stealth ports do.

    Here is what I found with google for TCP Packets failed:
    “I have a D-LINK Wireless Router. After checking the firewall settings on my router, I found that one of the settings was not shutting down the ports (only addresses), changed the setting and got a full GREEN (Stealth) from Shields Up!”
    May be in the settings.. Hope they can get you setup when you call.


    Don’t know but think it means your ISP internet service provider and you should NOT be seeing your real IP address…

    Let us know how the call works out…
     
  14. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I contacted NetComm Live Support and they assured me that the default settings for the firewall and security were fine. I told them that I could still see my IP address on whatismy IPAddress. I asked whether the firewall should stop that site seeing my IP address and they replied "No, actually what the site is showing is your public IP address that has been assigned to you by your ISP. If you don't have it you can't browse the internet." I then asked whether that meant that hackers can't access my account even if they can see my IP address. They replied (and the grammar is theirs) "Everyone should have their public IP address if they are browsing the internet. What the hackers will do, usually they will scan the ports that are opened at our side, if they found any opened port they might intrude it, that's why many hackers spread trojans and viruses attached to a downloadable program to create a backdoor so they can access the opened port, but if you don't download any suspicious programs such as crack, keygen, etc. there's nothing you should be worried about".

    Does this make sense? I thought that having a firewall meant that I wouldn't be able to download suspicious programs.
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,273
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    143
    yes makes sense. firewall will not stop you from downloading suspicious programs.
     
  16. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    An SPI Firewall stops the packets that you do not request.. They cannot send you something that you did not request, but if you click on it "it's yours"

    P.s. There are other ways for blocking the BAD guys that you click on.. we'll get to that..
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
  17. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,264
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    78
    lmao...ain't that the truth,somewhere on one of my hard external drives is the win 32 chura virus thingy,i'm pretty sure it's bundled in a software i downloaded only problem is there's hundreds of files in the data drive & have no idea which one it is,i'll find the bugger it just may not be in this lifetime

    edit:yeah right! that's external hard drives sheesh!
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
  18. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    That is pure BS.. All the routers that I have ever used DO change the IP address. The only way to know if it contains a crack or keygen is that you intentionally download it with a Torrent and are looking for that… When you download from a site, you have no idea where it is coming from or what it contains.. That is why you should only download from a reputable download site or the owners site but even then you can get zapped, but not as easy… Or use some good blocking software that will stop downloads that are suspicious or from a known Bad site. Programs like Malwarebytes Pro and Bluecoat Web Protection.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2013
  19. Kafka

    Kafka Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I have just discovered that my external disk drive is no longer recognized. Could this be something to do with the new router? Could it be blocking the drive?
     
  20. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    probably not.. is it a usb drive?
     

Share This Page