1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vista says video file is too big

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Hippyer, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. Hippyer

    Hippyer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi

    I've been burning video files on my laptop for quite a while.
    There shouldn't be a problem. I have tried burning two 700mb video files to a cdr and both times I have been told the file is too big at 734mb.
    It isn't at 734mb, and I don't know what is going on.

    This has only recently happened and an auto update of vista was ran recently so I think it may have something to do with this.

    Has anyone else been reporting such problems or is it just me?
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2010
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,309
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    edit that link out of your sig ASAP. posts edited.
    1. Advertising via forum messages is strictly prohibited. If you need to advertise your products on our site, contact us via the feedback form and we will negotiate an advertising contract with you/your company.
    3. Providing affilate tagged links to products or services is not allowed.
     
  3. Hippyer

    Hippyer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Done. My appologies, my account here is very old and I didn't know I had a signiture for a website I started a very long time ago.

    Getting back on topic, can you offer any help?
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,309
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    have you tried a system restore to before that update? can only put 1 700meg file onto a cd, not 2 700megs.
     
  5. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It depends on the format of the file and the type of burn.
    Are you burning as data or are you creating a vcd.

    The devil is in the details.
     
  6. scum101

    scum101 Guest

    yup.. but even a svcd will only hold 800mb .. no way to put 1400 on a nominal 700 disk.
     
  7. Hippyer

    Hippyer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm trying to burn it via the burn button at the top toolbar (in windows explorer) in vista as I have done many times before.

    The file is 700mb avi file.

    I haven't tried restoring vista as it seems a bit extreme.

    I am burning as data.

    A vista update wouldn't affect this negatively would it?
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2010
  8. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Try downloading a real burning app. like IMGBURN
    and give that a try.
     
  9. Hippyer

    Hippyer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you can't burn avi's with imgburn, can you?
     
  10. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    As a data disc? You certainly can do it with ImgBurn...
     

Share This Page