1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is best software to maintain clarity when resizing photos?

Discussion in 'Digital photography' started by rjqman, Apr 19, 2009.

1. rjqman

rjqman Member

I am a novice Dreamweaver user, and I have taken on the task of upkeep for a website for Music Educators. I need to edit, brighten, clarify, crop, and otherwise adjust photos of kids that are in marching bands - I paint out some things, (including other students that have not provided a release, etc.), and then I want to paste the photos onto other images and use them on the website. I have tried several different software options, and I have had great luck with Paint.net with a couple of exceptions. It is about right for my skill level. BUT when I adjust the size of a photo - even reducing it in size - the clarity really suffers (and I usually need to reduce - not enlarge). I always thought reducing would improve the clarity. Plus smoothing out blemishes can be problematic, and brightening some areas of the photo can result in some very artificial-looking results from my unsteady hand with a mouse.

But the biggest problem is just the loss of clarity. I understand that pixel density can be a problem with detailed photos that are reduced too much, but I do not think that is what I am dealing with, as even the slightest modification in size seems to cause a significant loss of clarity.

I am willing to spend a reasonable amount on some software, but I have already had some false starts and wasted my limited funds. Can anyone tell me if there is some good software that will enable me to do this? I have heard Adobe is good, but my funds, as I said, are limnited, and I do not want to buy it if it is no better than what I already have.