1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What makes firefox better than IE

Discussion in 'Windows - Software discussion' started by aj123, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. aj123

    aj123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So far, the only thing i heard is that it has macros or something but i dont even know what that is. cant seem to get a straight answer on this question.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2009
  2. silk42

    silk42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  3. aj123

    aj123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks
     
  4. dailun

    dailun Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The anti-Microsoft bigots will tell you "It's not Microsoft".
     
  5. thekabuki

    thekabuki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just started using Firefox a couple of days ago on the recommendation of a friend. I really like it and having done research myself before downloading it, I now see how flawed IE is with the security issues and such. Because of what I've read I have no intention on using IE again and have FF set as my default browser now.

    I've seen some people state that there are a few sites that will only open with IE, although I haven't come across any yet. Is there some work around that issue? Say I come across a website that won't function in Firefox, am I then forced to use IE or is there some way to open with IE but still using Firefox? Hope that made sense and didn't sound too dumb lol

    Also, say I never use IE again, do I still need to download the Microsoft Security updates that pertain specifically to IE? I mean, since it's still on my computer,even though I don't use it, am I still vulnerable to security threats?

    I know I'm a little late to the game,should have stopped using IE long ago - Thanks for your patience with a newbie :)
     
  6. silk42

    silk42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can use IE Tab (link here) to open pages that require IE, such as Windows Updates.

    You should always install the latest updates for Windows, including IE updates. As far as updating to the latest version of IE, that's more of a personal preference. At some point Microsoft will quit supporting older versions of IE, but for now (IE6, IE7, or IE8) it doesn't matter which version you use as long as you install all the updates.
     
  7. aj123

    aj123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    are there any other add-ons worth getting?
     
  8. silk42

    silk42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I always add Adblock whenever I install Firefox (link here). This will block most advertising that you see on websites as well as pop-ups.

    Another popular add-on if you're concerned about security (shouldn't everyone be concerned?) is called noscript (link here). This will keep harmful scripts from running in your browser. Obviously, you can enable them for websites that you trust.

    There are thousands of other add-ons, but most of them are going to be useful to only certain people. I'd recommend searching their site (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/) and seeing if there's anything that might interest you.
     
  9. aj123

    aj123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey thanks. im looking for one last thing that i cant seem to find. Is there any way i can make the address bar like the one in IE. I mean that when click on the drop down box it will show all the last websites that i have manually went to and not the recommended one that FF shows.
     
  10. silk42

    silk42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  11. SProdigy

    SProdigy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    EVERYTHING.

    Sorry, couldn't help it! Actually the IE7Pro download for IE7 adds a few extra features, such as spell checking, session management, etc. that Firefox has by default.

    As for FF, it's definitely my fav, though I am stuck using IE for corporate intranet sites and Windows Update (IE Tab is really the same thing in FF.) Plus I like the tabbed interface and RSS bookmark features better in FF.

    Some of my favorite/recommended add-ons for FF:

    AdBlock: this is a MUST for any FF user. You will be amazed at how much crap you don't put up with using FF instead of IE.

    Foxmarks: if you use multiple PC's, this addon will allow you to sync your bookmarks with a server, which then can be synced with multiple PC's running FF. I currently sync 7 computers with this addon.

    McAfee SiteAdvisor: scans and gives a recommendation as to whether a site is safe or not. Particularly useful green checkmarks or red x's in Google help when trying to search for something.

    FEBE: Backs up your Firefox profile. Helpful if you wipe your PC, or if you want to copy your entire profile, including settings and addons, to another PC.

    Split Browser: Tabs can be windowed within Firefox for side by side comparison, looking at multiple pics, etc. Reminds me of this feature within MS Excel.

    There are countless other addons, but most of the ones I've recommended are for function rather than personal taste. You could also get addons for weather forecasts, iTunes playback, etc. You'll just have to sort through it all and find what you like.
     
  12. aj123

    aj123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  13. silk42

    silk42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    In Firefox, click on Tools from the File Menu and then choose Options. From there, choose the Privacy icon at the top and make sure that you're not clearing your history when you close Firefox.
     
  14. varnull

    varnull Guest

    I'm anti-microcrap.. because I am.. but as for a bigot?.. nah.. you are a f-in retard if you think that isn't going to get a response from the free people mofo XD

    IE is the malware and spyware writers best ally.. it exposes the core of your operating system to the hostile environment of the internet.. that's the first reason.. the second is it is not a standards compliant browser.. it mangles pages and forces web developers to adopt broken non standard code forms for the pages to display correctly.. want more technical reasons not to use it?

    why not try opera.. a great browser, sleek and fast with lots of good plugins and extensions. Another standards compliant "doesn't want to break the internet for the sake of exclusive monopoly" browser.
     
  15. aj123

    aj123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i did that and it seemed to work, but after a while when i restart everything is deleted again and the clear history when firefox is checked again.
     
  16. silk42

    silk42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Do you have any other program on you computer that you use to keep your computer clean of spyware and adware, such as CCleaner?

    http://www.ccleaner.com/

    It's possible that another application is clearing your history and causing the clear history box to get checked.
     
  17. oViCiOuSo

    oViCiOuSo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I couldn't if I wanted to use IE.
    I wouldn't if I could use IE.
     
  18. thekabuki

    thekabuki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Original OP here...thanks for all the replies-appreciate the insight.

    One question about the Ad Block add-on suggestion. I really don't get any pop-ups or ads. I have the Google toolbar installed (with Google notifier disabled btw) and that seems to work. Plus have S & D spybot with teatimer which I "think" also blocks bad content. Also too I'm don't visit sites that are notorious for pop-ups and ads

    Anyways, if I have the Google pop up blocker, should I still ad the Add block FF add-on? Or will they conflict somehow?

    Also, I saw a flash block(?) add-on ...would this conflict with eBay. ebay's site is bloated with flash & unnecessary garbage loading in the background, but I'm a seller there so don't want to add anything on that blocks me from using the site
     
  19. vballstud

    vballstud Guest

    I'm not anti-Microsoft, but I do know that most, if not all viruses are written to affect Microsoft products. Therefore IE, a Microsoft Product, is generally a target.

    Firefox has obviously done something right because IE7 and IE8 have mimicked many features that FireFox has... like tabbed browsing and add-ons.
     
  20. aj123

    aj123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    got everything working to the way i want. thanks alot for ur help.
     

Share This Page