1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What software to use for DVD backups?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by atcskyfox, Oct 29, 2004.

1. atcskyfox

atcskyfox Member

I have noticed there are alot of different software and guides on how to backup your dvds. I am a complete newbie and looking for suggestions on what software to use. I have a Pioneer DVR-108 and use Verbatium 8x +R discs and Nero ver. 6.3 And my DVD player is a JVC XVN55SL. What would be the best software to use?

2. aut0psy

aut0psy Regular member

This in a lot of ways can be personal preference, however I will share what I use and what I find works best and with best quality.

DVDShrink - Its FREE and rips and encodes excellent!
    Nero 6.6 - Use this for burning ALL software CDR and DVD

With these two you can't go wrong, makes life simple and works everytime for me!

Although I am sure a lot of others will pipe in with some other suggestions as there are a lot out there.

3. bigorange

bigorange Active member

atcskyfox,

I agree with autOpsy, since you have Nero, get shrink and decrypter, both free and with those 3 apps you can do it all. BTW, you need to update your Nero 6.3 to 6.6, there are some good improvements there, including a new version of recode and a new NVE 3. It is called Nero Reloaded, but all Ultra 6 owners can upgrade for free :>)

4. atcskyfox

atcskyfox Member

Would it be worth getting DVD X Copy Platinum instead of using Dvd Shrink or Decrypter?

-ie. better video quality etc.

5. aut0psy

aut0psy Regular member

NO NO NO!

If anything you're video quality will suffer. Stick with DVD Shrink and you won't be disappointed!

6. eric545

eric545 Regular member

atcskyfox