1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What version of Windows should i use?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by griffin21, Sep 1, 2004.

1. griffin21

griffin21 Member

This may sound dumb, but i am a newbie....

I was wondering if Windows affects dvd r burning and if so, what version of windows is best to use for burning.as the first 3 dvds i have copied skip towards the last half of the movie. it most probably is the media i am using (generic brand) but if windows affects burning i want to make sure i have the right version of windows.

I am using windows 98, i have a pioneer dvr 108 + dvd shrink, decrypter and nero.

(note i have looked for other threads on this topic b4 posting but couldnt find any)

2. deadcat

deadcat Regular member

Doesnt really matter except you really need a ntfs hard drive to be able to store your video files (most over 4 gb fat32 limit)

Personally i would recommend upgrading to WinXP for the fact that it pisses all over 98 :)

Skipping movies definitly sounds like poor media, try branded ritek or verbatim metal azo

3. john179

john179 Active member

griffin21 as deadcat mentioned windows xp is the way to go.If you can get hold of windows xp pro this is slightly better version than xp home eddition.You may as well start with the best.Iam not to sure to be honest what all the differences are with home and pro.I just took the advise of a colleague at work who works in the IT department.Someone may be able to tell you about the differences.
    Thanks
    John179

4. askyew

askyew Regular member

I could be wrong(lord knows I have been before) but I believe the main difference is data encryption. The information on your hdd is offered more security with pro.

5. john179

john179 Active member

Thanks for the info askyew

Much Appreciated

John179

6. griffin21

griffin21 Member

Thanks for the info guys, AfterDawn is such a mad place to gain info!

7. ScubaPete