1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's the best hook up..for best Pic. Quality ?????

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by dabig25, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. dabig25

    dabig25 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a HD Cable box,

    What offers better picture quality

    Composite cable, DVI Cable, or HDMI ???

    My Cable Box has all these type of outputs.
     
  2. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

    Component cable is the best analog video connection option available. But, since it is an analog connection it is inherently inferior to DVI and HDMI because they are both digital connection types.

    DVI and HDMI offer the same picture quality. What makes them different is that HDMI can also carry digital audio streams. The HDMI connection also has a alot more bandwith than DVI.

    I recommend using the HDMI connection if you can since only one connection provides audio and video. Also all the newer digital devices (except some front projectors) use HDMI. HDMI is the "RF-Coax" connection of the future.

    What connction options does your TV have?

    Ced
     
  3. dabig25

    dabig25 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My TV does not have a HDMI connection, just 1 DVI input.

    But I'm using a HDMI to DVI adapter...from Bow to TV.

    I was asking because, I was thinking about getting a DVD w/ HDMI output.

    I was thinking about hooking up my HD Box thru Component Cable & hooking

    up the DVD Player thru HDMI, using the HDMI to DVI adapter that . I'm

    currently using w/ my HD Box........
     
  4. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

    OK. Do you know if the DVI input on your tv supports HDCP?

    HDCP:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDCP

    HDCP is requierd for playback of all copy protected HD content like thoughs offerd by digital cable premium services (channels). Also, every DVD upconvertion player that I sell requiers an HDCP complient input (HDMI-HDCP/DVI-HDCP). All that means is without HDCP support, while viewing an HD program, only a standard def image (if your using componet video) will be seen or nothing at all (if your using a regular HDMI/DVI connection).

    Ced
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 28, 2005
  5. dabig25

    dabig25 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't get it....I'm currently using a HDMI adalpter, out of my box, into a DVI cable, to TV......


    I'm able to watch everything in HD, that is being broadcast in HD....

    The only thing is that I still have to use an optical cable or, L & R audio cables to get sound ........
     
  6. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

    Well it sounds like you have a DVI-HDCP port. Thats good. The only bad thing is that you only have one. DVD upconverters only upconvert through their digital outputs.

    Try hooking up your cable box with component video cables and see if you still get everything in your HD package. If you don't then you need to use the DVI input for all HD programming.

    [bold]If for some reason I'm wrong[/bold] and the cable box does have HD-Component outputs (and no HDCP) then the best way to hook up everything is:

    Cable Box to TV via component video,

    DVD upconvertion player to TV via HDMI-DVI.

    [bold]Connecting audio cables is a must when using a DVI cable or HDMI-DVI cable [/bold]because DVI doesn't support audio like HDMI does (nor does DVI use a data channel for two-way comunication between devices). But they are fully campatible when it comes to digital video (and HDCP). You will also need to connect audio cables when you use the component video hook-up.

    HDCP:
    (1) http://www.projectorpeople.com/tutorials/HDCP_DVI.asp

    (2) http://tv.about.com/od/hdtv/a/hdmidvihdcp.htm

    Ced
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 29, 2005
  7. dabig25

    dabig25 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes

    If I hookup my Cable box using component cable, I still am able to watch

    things in HD.........


    So can I use the Upconversion DVD Player.....using the HDMI to DVI

    adapter that I'm currently w/ my HD box ????
     
  8. dabig25

    dabig25 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    One more thing , I forgot to mention.....

    My TV is HD Ready........Does not have an HD receiver built in.

    I'm using my HD cable box as my receiver.
     
  9. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

    Thats fine. Yes. If the DVD upconverter uses HDMI you will need to use a HDMI-DVI cable or your adapter.

    Ced
     
  10. dabig25

    dabig25 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Cool Thanks...

    Any suggestions on upconversion dvd players, that can become region also.

    Maybe under a $100 ??
     
  11. diabolos

    diabolos Guest

  12. dabig25

    dabig25 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah

    I `was looking at that same one..........
     

Share This Page