1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Audio to choose in DVD2One: DTS or AC3?

Discussion in 'DVD2One forum' started by Tmack, Aug 16, 2003.

  1. Tmack

    Tmack Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just got my DVD2One up and running along with DVD Decrypter and Nero 6 Ultra and everything is working great. I do notice, however, that when using DVD2One with some movies, I am presented with two 6ch audio choices in English. These choices are: AC3 6ch English, and DTS 6ch English. Which of these two should I check off to get the best audio possible or should I put both of them on the dvd backup? Also, I know you can only get 120 minutes of movie without compressing it but if I were to put extra features like subtitles on a video that is 119 minutes, would I be substituting video quality to get the subtitles?

    Thanks I advance,
    Taylour
     
  2. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    DTS is smaller in size [so if size is an issue maybe worth taking this audio in certain circumstances]

    But I usually take AC3 6CH in DVD2One myself
     
  3. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Um...DTS is larger in size. I have an AC3 6ch and DTS in front of me now. The AC3 6ch is 541MB and the DTS 916MB. DTS is the better one to have, but only really useful for DTS encoded systems that have a 5.1 or better set up.
     
  4. karatone

    karatone Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello all,I've just finished my very first dvd back-up using dvd decrypter 3.1.6.0,Dvd2one V.1.0.2,and Nero, Ritek Media .I'm glad i finally got everything to work,but here's my question : my first project Boogie Nights has an awesome soundtrack and I know the Original had DTS on it,when using Dvd2one to compress the files it didn't have the audio options for selecting DTS. Do I need a newer version Dvd2one or am I just not doing something correctly?I've got my home system equipped for DTS sound. All I can say is that I'm very excited to be watching my first back-up,picture quality is great. Any advice from the forum would be helpful,thanks
     
  5. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Try using the free DVD Shrink. It shows you what audio options are available and allows you to select the ones that you want, ie DTS. It's great that yours is working ok.
     
  6. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Yes , you do need to update DVD2One

    DVD2One still beats DVD Shrink in my opinion cos there are still bugs in Shrink
     
  7. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Your eally should try the new version Herbsman, i think you will be impressed!
     
  8. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Is there a new version out , that isn't [bold]beta [/bold] ?

    DVD Shrink 3.0 has it's problems
     
  9. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Its still a Beta 5 at the min.
     
  10. karatone

    karatone Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I haven't played my third back-up project just yet,(Chicago) but after I decrypted it and was using my current older version of DVD2one I was able to pick DTS,i was told by a friend that if the movie has DTS the audio options will show up on DVD2one,I'll play this back later and keep you all posted on the results, thanks! i was thinking i needed a newer version
     
  11. Samantha

    Samantha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I used Smart Ripper to rip the vobs then DVD2ONE to compress, the Nero6 to burn.
    My problem was, all the movie and extras picture wise was great, extras had sound, main movie didn't.
    In DVD2ONE I choose DTS.
    It's got me stuffed and i'm sick of wasteing DVD's.
    Help????
     
  12. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    I always take AC3 6CH

    If you are not compressing by a lot you could take both or all incl. AC3 2CH aswell as DTS

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Samantha

    Samantha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK here we go again..............I'll give it a go that way lol
     
  14. Samantha

    Samantha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    On DVD2ONE do set compression mode to Variable Ratio or Constant Ratio????

    Thanx btw :)
     
  15. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    If you take DTS and your DVD player doesnt support it, then you wont get any sound from it. You will then need to take AC3 instead.
     
  16. Samantha

    Samantha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh ok so that explaines why the extras have audio but the movie dosnt.
    I run everything through a receiver and that takes DTS but i'm not sure about the DVD player itself. Would it do harm to select both for safe measures lol
     
  17. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    It wouldnt do any harm, but the DVD player may attempt to play the DTS sound before the AC3 sound, I dont really know. But if your DVD player doesnt support DTS, then it cant decode it, no matter if your hifi can or not. I personally would leave the DTS out as the AC3 6ch will sound very good anyway. Also, the DTS is 600MB+ generally, so imagine what you could save in picture quality if you are compressing!!
     
  18. Samantha

    Samantha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okies ta shall try it again now

    Thanx heaps

    P.s Leave it variable compression or constant??
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2003
  19. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Glad i could help.

    It really depends. Constant doesnt take as long, but applies a constant compression to the whole disc. Variable, i think the better option, applies a variable amount of compression to different parts of the disc. This means that for fast moving scenes like, car chases, there will be less compression applied so as to give better picture quality. it will make up for it by compressing still scenes at a higher level.
     
  20. Samantha

    Samantha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Phew thank god you said that lol. I started it just as you replied, I left it as variable :)
     

Share This Page