1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which IPod for my wife please?

Discussion in 'iPod discussion' started by Wyattspop, Mar 15, 2013.

1. Wyattspop

Wyattspop Regular member

Hi Kids,
    Would you be so kind and help a guy who's completely ignorant about Ipods select a new one for my wife? I'm a tech Geek, but not about Ipods/MP3's..The one we own is the 5th Gen/Video 30 GB model from like 2006 I think. It's starting to fail to read dial-dragging so I want to upgrade for her.
    Her usage; She primarily uses it for audiobooks, say 90% of the time. She has a new Kindle Fire HD 8.9 so that's her main video/app tool, but I don't want to buy her the cheapest model either. I know nothing about the "touch" series...what do you have? What are the better models? Oh, and GB's will matter since an audiobook has even more Gigs than a typical DVD Rip. When will they wise up and make a micro-SD port for IPods, same for Kindles. Appreciate you sharing what you like, what you don't suggest...
    Thanks Ya'll

2. Mez

Mez Active member

Well I am not a kid but I might be able to help. I would get a nano not a disked one. They last longer and have better battery life because there are no moving parts. Audio books are long but the files are relatively small. This is because it takes very little band width to faithfully reproduce a human voice. You can fit a large book (20+ hrs) on a CD (600 m ) if you burn it as an mp3 CD. To faithfully reproduce a violin that has some tones up to 20 kHz it requires 40 times the bandwith of a man's voice at 1 kHz. Video takes up even more. A regular 2+ hr movie takes up 9 gigs on a normal DVD.

Does she listen to audible? You can download then through Amazon.

I have used a 4 gig nano for as long or longer than your wife had hers. That is big enough for 20-20 hrs of music and a book or 2. I do not keep them on the ipod after I listened to them.