1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which power source and case should I buy?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by pmaknelho, Mar 3, 2007.

1. pmaknelho

pmaknelho Regular member

So I finally decided on my parts:
    GIGABYTE GA-965P-S3 Mobo

CORSAIR XMS2 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory Model CM2X1024-6400

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 2.13GHz

EVGA 256-P2-N615-TX GeForce 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3500641AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

I'm at $700 right now and want to spend as little as possible on a case/power source. I think I need at least 550 W and something that will last for my power source. I could care less on how my case looks I just want something that will fit all my current parts and enough room for future expansion if needed. I've never done this before, so please try to be specific on parts. Thanks for the advice.

BTW- Will all the parts I picked work well with each other???

2. marsey99

marsey99 Regular member

cases are personal, as its you that will have to look at it not me.

what ever you do dont try to save some money on a psu as it will only cost you more in the long run. buy one from a big brand name.

you want to think about, not only what you have installed now, but also what you might add to it in a few weeks. like a better sound card, more hard drives a newwer graphics card and so on.

something else to consider.

ati are about to release there newest cards, nvidia will also have some more out to counter ati's. with all these newwer dx10 cards on the horizon, and the current cards prices will no doubt fall, is it the best time to buy a graphics card? can you wait 6 or so weeks till the new ones come out?

3. pmaknelho

pmaknelho Regular member