1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why did you choose Blu-ray over HD-DVD?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray players' started by HDextreme, Aug 24, 2007.

1. HDextreme

HDextreme Guest

Hello everyone,

I’m a newbie at posting (been around afterdawn for years), so please let me know if I crossed any lines. I read the forum rules many times.

I’m in the market for one of the new High Definition players, either Blu-ray or HD-DVD.

My questions is for all those Blu-ray Owners out there...

Why did you choose Blu-ray over HD-DVD? Was there a deciding factor? If you have both players, please indicate if you prefer one over the other and why. This info will help many of us who can’t wait for the winning format.

Thank you!

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 24, 2007
  2. NexGen76

NexGen76 Regular member

I choose Blu-Ray because i feel they have better studio support.BDA(Blu-ray Disc Association) Has lot of Backers & Support from major CE.

Apple Computer, Inc.
    Dell Inc.
    Hewlett Packard Company
    Hitachi, Ltd.
    LG Electronics Inc.
    Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd.
    Mitsubishi Electric Corporation
    Pioneer Corporation
    Royal Philips Electronics
    Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
    Sharp Corporation
    Sony Corporation
    Sun Microsystems, Inc.
    TDK Corporation
    Thomson Multimedia
    Twentieth Century Fox
    Walt Disney Pictures
    Warner Bros. Entertainment

The only problem i have with HD-DVD is movie exclusives & Blu-Ray has the better or the two groups but you make the choice both have there good & bad side Blu-Ray high price,HD-DVD short on movie exclusives.

3. HDextreme

HDextreme Guest

Thanks NexGen76! There seems to be quite a bit of studio support for Blu-ray, even though some companies have recently moved to support HD (e.g. Paramount and DreamWorks).