1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why did you choose HD DVD over Blu-ray?

Discussion in 'HD DVD discussion' started by HDextreme, Aug 24, 2007.

1. HDextreme

HDextreme Guest

Hello everyone,

I’m a newbie at posting (been around afterdawn for years), so please let me know if I crossed any lines. I read the forum rules many times.

I’m in the market for one of the new High Definition players, either Blu-ray or HD DVD.

My questions is for all those HD DVD Owners out there...

Why did you choose HD DVD over blu-ray? Was there a deciding factor? If you have both players, please indicate if you prefer one over the other and why. This info will help many of us who can’t wait for the winning format.

Thank you!

2. error5

error5 Regular member

I have both formats and I would say my level of enjoyment is fairly equal with a slight tendency toward HD DVD. If there is a movie I want to see that is released on both formats I always buy or rent the HD DVD version. The only time I buy or rent a BluRay disc is if the movie is not available on HD DVD.

The reason for this is I feel that HD DVD is the more polished and finished product with consistently fine transfers and good to excellent quality soundtracks (especially the ones with True HD). I also think the Toshiba players are excellent. I've had the HD-A1 and have recently upgraded to HD-XA2. I feel the XA2 is probably the best piece of video hardware I have ever owned. I know of two other people in these forums that have the XA2 and they both like it a lot.

3. HDextreme

HDextreme Guest

Thanks error5! I’ve heard picture quality on the HD DVD is a little better then Blu-ray. I’m guessing you have all this connected to a receiver, can you tell me what kind of connection you’re using? Also, where can you rent HD DVDs? I use Blockbuster and they only have BDs.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 24, 2007
  4. error5

error5 Regular member