1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why is my new 80gb HD reading as 70GB HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Xbox - Software discussion' started by blackrain, Jul 2, 2004.

  1. blackrain

    blackrain Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When I use boxplorerv it says that my 80GB Maxtor harddrive is 70 GB total. Can it be that my hardrive is really 70GB or is it a xbox error........ I know 10GB may not be alot but when u spend your hard earned money on the drive you want every kb,mb and gb that is promised. Thanks for the help
     
  2. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If it works anything like on a PC, and the XBox is so much like a PC, the manufacturer considers their 80GB hard drive to be 1,000,000GB times 80 but the operating systems considers a GB to be 1,048,000 which means the OS should recognize about 75GB or so.
     
  3. BoxMods

    BoxMods Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Are you including all your partions?? I think that your F partion has 70gb free, C,E,x,y,z take up about 10gb. At the evoX screen goto System Util. then Settings, and scroll down to see how much room each partion is, and that should add to 80gb.
     
  4. lachxbox

    lachxbox Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you lose a lot in formating i was so annoyed when i got an 80gb hd for comp and windows saw it as 68
     
  5. lachxbox

    lachxbox Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you lose a lot in formating i was so annoyed when i got an 80gb hd for comp and windows saw it as 68 same thing happens with a floppy disk if u look at the side of a floppy disk box it says unformated 2 mb formated 1.44 mb
     
  6. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its because it recognizes a gb as 1,048,000mb, so it is less just like a pc.
     

Share This Page