1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why no writing soeed control?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by dano28, Jun 7, 2004.

1. dano28

dano28 Guest

I have been burning DVD's on a Plextor PX-708A for a few months. Blank media (DVD+)quality not withstanding, it's a trueism that the slower you burn the more likely it will be successful. My question is..why is it that in "Properties" for my Plextor there is speed select options for CD's but not for DVD's ? Most of the time recording on X4 blanks the speed of the burn process starts at X4 and then speeds up to maybe X8. Most of the time the burned discs are fine but now an again you hit a movie that will freeze when burned in this fashion. Latest example for me was Scorpion King. We keep a supply of Phillips X2.4 for these. Movies that refuse to burn on X4 blanks, will burn perfectly on the X2.4 blanks. It takes MUCH longer to burn these, like 25 minutes compared to 7.
    I believe burns would be more reliable with X4 blanks if there was a way to keep the Plextor at X4 without it accelerating to faster speeds ? What would going to DVD-R media do for me ?

2. 321sucker

321sucker Regular member

Mostly successful burns depend on the quality of the media.
    From my experience, the cheaper media has a tendency to be mixed with good to worst media. Expecially with the bulk packs. THis meaning, that some my burn succesfully at 8x while others from the same batch may burn at 2x. Its just the nature of the beast.

THe better quality of media is more stable. Thats just how it is.

Here is a good link.
    Hope this helps.
    http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm

3. dano28

dano28 Guest

So, you are saying that in spite of my observing this again and again and again, it must be my imagination and burn speed has little to do with it.