1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will an i3 cpu work on this board ?

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by sandisk, Nov 11, 2010.

1. sandisk

sandisk Regular member

Hi guy's, just looking for your advice on this.

Basically I've saved up a few euro over the past while for a new pc and I'll be attempting my first build hopefully tomorrow if I can get all that is required.

Now currently at the min I'm still using a pentium 4 on my desktop and on my laptop a core 2 duo and my laptop is much faster than my main pc.

So bottom line is as it's my first build hopefully of many it doesn't have to be anything too flash, I just need some more speed so...... as I'm not well up on motherboard compatability can you tell me if an i3 processor will work on this board >>> http://www.maxburns.ie/?ECProduct=2512

Now I see it say's "Max cpu support i7/i5", so at the min I have an i5 650 skt 1156 picked out but I'd go with an i3 if it was supported.

So as for future ref, if it say's "Max cpu support i5 or i7" does this mean I can only go with this type or any processor once it's skt 1156 ?

Cheers ;)

2. sammorris

sammorris Senior member

All LGA1156 CPUs work in all LGA1156 boards, for now, so yes it would work. However Asus boards are pretty terrible of late so I'd strongly recommend going with a Gigabyte equivalent.
    The store you're using is absolutely terrible though, only stocking 7 boards for LGA1156 when most sell over 30, and they're all ASRock and Asus (i.e. bad).
    Go with either
    http://komplett.ie/Komplett/product...rboard_ATX_iP55_LGA1156/P55_CD53/default.aspx

or

http://www.pixmania.ie/ie/uk/4771607/art/gigabyte/ga-p55-ud3l-v2-0-socket-1.html

3. sandisk

sandisk Regular member

Thanks for the reply :)