1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will this process work for making quality backups?

Discussion in 'DVD / BD-Rebuilder forum' started by MacBauer, Apr 4, 2006.

1. MacBauer

MacBauer Member

I'm new to the whole DVD burning thing, but I have spent quite a bit of time reading all the helpful information on this site. After reading everything, I do still have a few questions:

I'd like to start making a backup of my entire DVD collection. All I want on my backup DVD is the movie only - no extra features I can always pull out the original if I want to watch those, and no menus or anything like that - just the movie.

I have the following software, all free versions:

DVDFab Decrypter
    DVD Shrink
    DVD Rebuilder (free version)

I'll eventually get the Pro version of DVD Rebuilder along with CCE Basic, but for purpose of my questions here I'm using the free programs above until I can afford the other versions.

I am considering the following backup routine for movies that need a lot of compression, say more than 85% in DVDShrink.

Use DVDShrink (or DVDFab first and then DVDShrink for movies that DVDShrink can't beat copyright protection) then use DVDRebuilder. With DVDShrink, I select the movie only like normal, but in the compression section I set DVD Shrink to use 'No Compression' - so I'm ripping only the movie to my hard drive, but using no compression/transcoding in DVDShrink. Then I open DVD Rebuilder and do the compression/encoding using the HC Encoder that comes free with Rebuilder.

Will the above work and still givee me as good of quality as using Rebuilder Pro (the only thing I need Pro for would be to do Movie Only, but can do that with extra step in my process)??

When I rip the movie with DVD Shrink, I'm not using any compression. I want to verify that Shrink isn't doding anything else that will compromise thhe quality if I'm using No compression there.