1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem windows 7 OS problem need to wipe :c Drive

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by Mickoz74, Oct 19, 2014.

  1. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ok after doing all that, I have had The BSOD error messages BAD_SYSTEM_CONFIG_INFO that went now i have KERNEL_DATA_INPAGE Error 0x0000007a also Calibre Application error 0xc0000185 (Calibre library is a program for ebooks). is my hard drive dead? i have right clicked on drive C clicked check disk, i can only run it after a reboot on stage 4 of 5 chkdsk file data pc hung at 19062 of 128752.
    Is running a 2TB hard drive to big for the drive that has the OS on. would a smaller drive be better?
     
  2. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    didnt realise i didnt tick quick format till i woke in the morning then thought bugger but let it run
     
  3. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  4. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,230
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    78
    error suggests a corruption in pagefile on hard disk or an issue with ram.
    http://www.bing.com/search?q=KERNEL_DATA_INPAGE+Error+0x0000007a&pc=MOZI&form=MOZLBR

    I'm not sure what should be done first,however putting computer back to basic would be a good place to begin,this would require not using adapters if you have pata on the mobo to connect to a sata drive for instance,those things can be fickle.When fault finding it always pays to go back to basics & preferably minimal,the more junk you have running or attached the harder it can be to find an issue or compound an existing one.

    to do a ram check you don't need a hard drive,you can use a linux OS like puppy or rescue tux then run the test drirect from a cd or flash drive,mean while you can already have the hdd out setup in an external housing or in another computer having seatools do the basic tests,which will un-gray once drive is selected,if there's an issue it will show up quickly,except for the long generic that's a full surface scan
    1-S.M.A.R.T check
    2-short self check
    3-short generic test
    4-long generic test
     
  5. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I just have 1 2TB sata hard drive no adapters, only asked about changing hard drive as the similar problem I had last time a new hard drive cleared them
     
  6. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    short drive self test failed the drive was in a caddy laptop is running vista 32 bit
     
  7. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    passed short generic test, no option for smart check on that drive is that because its in a caddy
     
  8. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    long generic test 46 errors so far
     
  9. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    its not showing a serial number is that right? smart self test supported false smart error logging false, general purpose logging supported false
     
  10. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    long generic fail shortDST fail
     
  11. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    event viewer The device, \Device\Harddisk1\DR1, has a bad block this was what I found after running scan disk GUI from right clicking drive properties check disk with both options ticked, massive list , can't find a a.txt file, it got 16 bad file records from stage one, 44 reparse records processed, CHKDSK recovering lost files, 4 unindexed files processed Usn journal verification replaced loads of bad clusters, adding 144 bad clusters to the bad clusters file. correcting errors in the master file tables (MFT) DATA AND BITMAP attribute, correcting errors in the volume bitmap. windows has made corrections to the file system
     
  12. Mr-Movies

    Mr-Movies Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No you won't have Smart enabled in a caddy but if it was it would probably tell you to replace the drive as you seem to have some serious sector issues, either your drive crashed or it is just getting old and starting to fail. After fixing all of the drive issues with CHKDSK run it one more time and see if there are still problems showing up. When you run CHKDSK again run it with the /F switch so it does a full check/fix if you didn't before and if it finds issues run FULL again then if there aren't any issues put it into a computer connected to a SATA port on your mainboard with SMART enabled in the BIOS and see what it reports, but my guess is the drive is bad with all that you've done.

    What ScorpNZ mentioned could caused the HDD to corrupt as Page files, RAM, Registry Issues, Drivers, or even your CPU can cause these kinds of problems, you'll notice I added a couple more things.
     
  13. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    guess I need new herd drive, don't have smart on bios or shadowing
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2014
  14. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ran chkdsk /F as admin through cmd admin

    C:\Users\Administrator>chkdsk g: /f
    The type of the file system is NTFS.
    Volume label is Acer.

    CHKDSK is verifying files (stage 1 of 3)...
    Deleting corrupt attribute record (128, $J) records processed)
    from file record segment 112051.
    178688 file records processed.
    File verification completed.
    308 large file records processed.
    0 bad file records processed.
    0 EA records processed.
    44 reparse records processed.
    CHKDSK is verifying indexes (stage 2 of 3)...
    237084 index entries processed.
    Index verification completed.
    0 unindexed files processed.
    CHKDSK is verifying security descriptors (stage 3 of 3)...
    178688 security descriptors processed.
    Security descriptor verification completed.
    29199 data files processed.
    CHKDSK is verifying Usn Journal...
    Creating Usn Journal $J data stream
    Usn Journal verification completed.
    CHKDSK discovered free space marked as allocated in the volume bitmap.
    Windows has made corrections to the file system.

    773394431 KB total disk space.
    51708348 KB in 148070 files.
    98820 KB in 29200 indexes.
    576 KB in bad sectors.
    269095 KB in use by the system.
    65536 KB occupied by the log file.
    721317592 KB available on disk.

    4096 bytes in each allocation unit.
    193348607 total allocation units on disk.
    180329398 allocation units available on disk.

    C:\Users\Administrator>
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    "576 KB in bad sectors." says yes to new drive.
     
  16. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ok how do i work out if i use sata I II or III and do you think i'd be better with 5oogb instead of 2TB as i back up my stuff to other HDD, im looking for more hard wearing that size. (I use photoshop I tunes PDF24 and convert my dvds to play on windows surface. i have an acer aspire M3970 I5 its 6GB ram with a free slot that goes up to 8GB in total im running the 8GB
     
  17. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,230
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    78
    green drives & others that are cheap aren't meant for all day everyday running,it's why they're cheap,the more expensive drives are,however how long a drive lasts is like asking how long a piece of string is,once upon a time i would've said get an hitachi or a samsung in that order,not sure if hitachi are still making drives ;samsungs are now made by seagate
     
  18. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,567
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I have two external WD green drives (the case is branded HP).
    They've been running 24/7 for three years (they actually want to spin down but I schedule a ping every five minutes to keep them on their toes as I didn't care for the spinup delay).
    Use them as storage for image data backups without any problems.
    My theory is that if it doesn't turn off, it can't fail to start.
    My only HDD failure ever was a 10 MB (in 1989 God help us) IBM drive used with a PC XT.
    I bought it used for an arm and a leg and it quit after a year.


    Edited. to show it was a PC XT.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2014
  19. Mickoz74

    Mickoz74 Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    gone for a 500gb Seagate drive
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,186
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    128
    attar, i still have my ti-99 4a in it's box.
     

Share This Page