1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

\windows\inf\biosinfo.inf

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by john1690, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. john1690

    john1690 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i hope im in the correct place here , was wondering if anyone could help me ide be gratefull,
    ive downloaded servicepack 3 from my automatic updated, and when i go to reboot pc i get this message
    C:\WINDOWS\ServicePackFiles\i386\
    any help plz ive already tried things but to no avail
     
  2. DoubleDwn

    DoubleDwn Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What else does this message say? WHen does it come up? More info needed before we can help.

    ~Rich
     
  3. john1690

    john1690 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Windows could not start because the file is missing or corrupt

    \Windows\inf\biosinfo.inf

    you can attempt to repair this file by starting windows setup
    using the original windows cd-rom select'r' at the first screen to start repair


    the error message as above...

    i have tried googling it but to no avail, microsoft dont give any clear answers, i also have tried other forums but no luck

    I tried using the cd-rom but when i press 'r' repair it then asks what drive i want to repair, i pressed the d: drive (as thats where my windows xp is)then adminstrator password ( which i dont have one) i pressed enter and nothing happened thereafter.

    thanks john
     
  4. john1690

    john1690 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sorry the first message was wrong lol
    john
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,174
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    128
    moved to correct forum as not a hardware issue. uninstall sp3 or do a system restore to before you installed sp3.
     
  6. john1690

    john1690 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

    i cannot do this as windows wont start, not even in safe mode. i am using another hard drive (os system just now for this )

    thanks john
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,174
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    128
    reload windows as that is what i had to do for a customer when she installed sp3 & things started not to work or work properly even after a system restore.
     
  8. john1690

    john1690 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    are you saying that i have to reformat and put a new windows on, as the thing is i havent installed sp3, merely updated to it and after reboot(b4 installation) i have encountered this problem
     
  9. varnull

    varnull Guest

    Now.. memory is a bit hazy |(because it's years since I saw this error)
    biosinfo.inf sets the parameters for hal.dll (the hardware overlay which windows relies on).. but there are only actually a few possibilities for that file, and you can sometimes.. actually quite often.. get away with a slightly wrong un.

    Variously called hal.dll halaali.dll and such.. should be available from all-dlls.com which because I like tinkering I would load a linux live cd with ntfs support.. have a root and find which version.. download from a dll dump site and replace the hal.dll variant and keep trying to boot in safe mode until it starts... then it should repair itself.

    another one of Jan's undocumented windows cheats ;)
     
  10. john1690

    john1690 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks for your response, i think i have an idea what you nmean but could you possibly give me a wee hand with a step by step instruction plz


    thanks john
     
  11. john1690

    john1690 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hi thanks for replys , ive tried everything now , im now fed up with trying , so i decided to reformat hard drive
    can this thread be deleted by a moderator , or does it stay on


    thanks once again
    john
     

Share This Page