1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WINDOWS INSTALL PROB-VERY VERY VERY WIERD

Discussion in 'Windows - Software discussion' started by sahiljit, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Okay so i installed vista and formated the hardrive using vista install i got rid of vista now i want to reinstall xp so i put my xp disk in and says no hardrive found. I can reinstall vista fine. i have tried 3 diffrent xp disks same thing. What the prob? maby diffrent file formats that xp install cant detect? if it is how do i format the drive within windows if the drive is the one running windows?
     
  2. corn

    corn Guest

    Maybe you can do a dual boot to dual boot Vista, and XP, and boot up XP, and uninstall Vista?
    I don't know, but check with other people before you do it.
     
  3. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thing is i have no os right now. But when i try installin xp i cant b/c it says no hardrive btut vista installs fine.
     
  4. bkf

    bkf Guest

    You cant format a disc when it is in use. Start at you HDD manufactures and see what they have to offer. You could get a boot disc from someplace, You could dos fdisk, you could put the drive in another computer as a slave and blow it away. When are people going to stop putting such dangerious software in their computers. He did not spend 4 billion to make your life easy with something that offers nothing. Who knows what it created on that drive. Low level format is what you want. Defaulting you bios cant hurt either. Something is still in there.

    Sits here shaking head
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2006
  5. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks for you help and rudeness i have tried all of that except dos fdisk please go on in detail.
     
  6. bkf

    bkf Guest

    Forget Fdisk> It won't work on NTFS discs. Your best be is still the HDD manufactures website. And I was not being rude. I was telling the truth. Do you think your hardware just up and vanashed? No but something got put in there to make it look like it did and it's still in there. Being able to reload vista proves that. A quick search using term "delete vista" Has many ideas, Not many of them are pretty.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2006
  7. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks man i deleted vista and now i have no os and i tried to load xp on there and smae thing.
     
  8. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i went to my hardrive mf no help stupid fujistu
     
  9. bkf

    bkf Guest

    Are we talking about a laptop or a pc? Can you post the model number?
    Also the exact model number of the drive. Chances are fujistu did not even make the drive. That drive at some point was compleatly blank so there has to be a standalone formater somewhere. I read 20 pages about fujistu and they have to be one of the hardest to fix. I think vista changed the MBR (first 64 bytes of the drive) and that is what you have to erase. Vista (the program) changed the files and way it boots up. Had you made vista a second os and left XP alone you could use one to blow away the other so you will need to find something that will blank that entire drive. And for your joy Vista even creates an invisable partition. Given what I read about thier hard drives you may need a repair shop or even consider a new drive. fujistu HDD's don't have a very good track record.


    You might be able to do something with a ubotu linux standalone disc but that is above me. It only loads into memory and does not touch the disc.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2006
  10. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  11. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    its a hp dv6000 and the hd is defiantly a fujistu am i screwed?
     
  12. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ahh my laptop doesnt have a floppy drive
     
  13. bkf

    bkf Guest

    No just harder to fix unless you can burn or get burned a boot cd. I read some more pages and it's ain't looking good. Even for one person a zero out of the disk did not work but I find that hard to believe. Let me go look at the hp website
     
  14. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I resotred MRB using the program listed above and now when i boot up vista i get a mising NTDLR and i get the same promblem while trying to install windows.
     
  15. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks bud
     
  16. bkf

    bkf Guest

    Well I think it might be time to call HP and tell them your problem. Your Recovery disc may be bad.
    There are 48 models of the 6000 series. so pick the one you got, in support it will tell you how to create a new set of disc's even without windows but if vista messed up that recovery pertition This could get messy. That Ntdlr file is part of your loader but it should not need that to do a repair because a repair assumes the os is toast.

    Which one of the first two is yours
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...=us&dlc=en&product=1844162&rule=19572&lang=en
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 11, 2006
  17. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi, I had the same problem years ago with a missing NTDLR, I can't recall how I fixed it, I think it was with a WIN2000 disc, but i'm not sure.

    Sorry, but I found this for you http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q314057
    it should fix it. Forget about the Win98 and 95 blurb, go down a bit and it says "Cannot find the system file in the standard locations on drive C:"
    Read from here down and you should be able to get the files off the XP disc. The instructions say to get the fie from the windows folder, try the disc.

    M
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2006
  18. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks guys but the prob is i have 3 diffrent windows xp install disks and each say i have no hd but vista seems to install fine.
     
  19. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i made recovery disks but they say dont support my model!!!!! i made them with the same pc tho.
     
  20. sahiljit

    sahiljit Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    any help?
     

Share This Page