1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

windows player 9

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by rtrg, Feb 8, 2010.

1. rtrg

rtrg Regular member

Is there a REALLY FREE dvd(DECODER) for P9 that will allow playing of dvds? Player 6.4 can do that without downloading anything. Why should P9 be different? I will NOT buy something that should be built into the player? Any info welcome. I tried a number of PACKS that were supposed to do exactly that. They did NOT work.

2. cyprusrom

cyprusrom Active member

Try ffdshow, or install MPC (WMP uses an MPC splitter on my computer to decode DVD video).

3. rtrg

rtrg Regular member

As a newbie I am as always totaly confused. I downloaded FIELD SHOW from your link. Tried P9. New error, "CANNOT CURRENTLY PLAY DVD. TRY REDUCEING RESOLUTION, NUMBER OF COLORS, OR TRY TROUBLE SHOOTER" Troubleshooter is GREEK to me. FIELD SHOW CONFIGURATIONN shows MPEG 2 is DISABLED. CANNOT figure out how to ENABLE it. Help in simple ENGLISH please. MPC is the 6.4 CLASSIC player which I also use. I would like to use P9 to play dvds, but not if it is so complicated.

4. cyprusrom

cyprusrom Active member

In ffdshow, where it says "Disabled" for mpeg2, click on it and choose libvacodec.

5. rtrg

rtrg Regular member

I found a page during the set up wizard that allows a multitude of codecs to be enabled. I chose all the various mpegs to be enabled. and finished the wizard. The con figuration page confirmed those choices. The same error mess appeares. Anything else to do?

6. cyprusrom

cyprusrom Active member

""CANNOT CURRENTLY PLAY DVD. TRY REDUCEING RESOLUTION, NUMBER OF COLORS"..

That does not sound like a codec problem, but more hardware related. Did you try to adjust the display as suggested(colour/resolution?)

Try this:

# Lower video acceleration in Windows Media Player:

1. In Windows Media Player, on the Tools menu, click Options.