1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Vista or Linux?

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by NeoLance, Feb 19, 2007.

1. NeoLance

NeoLance Regular member

Ok I was reading up about Linux and thought that is was pretty cool. Right now I have a Sony Vaio, with Windows XP. Would it be possible to download Linux to use for the computer? And also, which is better? I read that Linux is more stable than Windows, but I am not sure if this is true. My mom was talking to some computer guy and he was saying that we should not get Linux because if there is a problem with it we won't find anybody to come and fix the problem. I am new to all of this computer stuff so I am not sure... And if I had Linux would I be able to still use the AOL software and the word processors and everything? The thing I am thinking though is if Linux is the better software to get, how come you can download it for free and Windows Vista costs money to buy? If you guys think Linux would be the better choice, can you send me to a reliable download site that people use a lot? Thanks in advance.

2. ireland

ireland Active member

take a look at this

About Ubuntu

Ubuntu is a free, open source Linux-based operating system that starts with the breadth of Debian and adds regular releases (every six months), a clear focus on the user and usability (it should "Just Work", TM) and a commitment to security updates with 18 months of support for every release (and with 6.06 LTS you get 3 years on the desktop and 5 on the server!). Ubuntu ships with the latest GNOME release as well as a selection of server and desktop software that makes for a comfortable desktop experience off a single installation CD.

What makes Ubuntu special? Why do people choose Ubuntu as their favourite OS for work and play?

Absolutely Free of Charge