1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

windows xp crashed.

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by rihgt682, Apr 22, 2006.

  1. rihgt682

    rihgt682 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    it crashed
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2006
  2. rihgt682

    rihgt682 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    help
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2006
  3. TomMelee

    TomMelee Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Uhm...

    I'm sure the motherboard is proprietary to Dell. The RAM might be DELL brand, but it's probably NOT proprietary.

    What makes it a DELL is their custom flavor of XP that it installs, as well as the MoBo, and occasionally the specific chip it's using, but not always.

    You'd really be better off obtaining a new copy of windows xp, that wasn't a recovery disc, and using that.

    Although, if you keep crashing, it's probably a bad stick of RAM.
     
  4. rihgt682

    rihgt682 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ok
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2006
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    that is the bios showing up dell logo
     
  6. rihgt682

    rihgt682 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ...
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2006
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    the bios is the permanent memory of the computer. it tells the cpu what to do til the os kicks in so you can't erase the bios. also it is on a chip on the motherboard.
     
  8. rihgt682

    rihgt682 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    can i remove this chip? can you help me fix this problem ddp.
     
  9. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    Dude, since you seem to know f*ck all about computers, wouldn't it be wiser to call in someone who does?

    Don't get me wrong, i'm not trying to dis you here, but since you're even asking about how to remove a BIOS chip (which would leave your computer as a non starting piece of junk), you don't exactly come across as a person who should be messing with a computer, it's OS or it's internal components.
     
  10. tocool4u2

    tocool4u2 Guest

    LOL.....I don't think you want to mess with your BIOS as if you flash it wrong or do something with it.....Your computer will be trash and you would need to buy a new motherboard......
     
  11. rihgt682

    rihgt682 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Next time you want to talk trash, read first.
     
  12. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    By god, some people...
    With call in, i mean get someone to look at it, not use frigging tech support over the phone...

    Rather than me working on my reading, might i suugest you worked on your grasp of the english language....?

    Besides, i said call in someone who does know his stuff, Microsux tech support knows less about computers than my 2 year old cousin does,
    And with Dell's outsourced tech support usually situated in a 3rd world country, i wouldn't count on them to help me with computer problems of this magnitude.
     
  13. retro78

    retro78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    retro78 sighs.....

    Teach n learn , dont nag n whine !!
     
  14. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The BIOS is not something you change in that way,
    Or can modify in the way you want it to.
    The only way to remove that LOGO is to get a new MOBO,
    And we will leave that part for another day.

    I am assuming you attempted to install all the system restore
    disks that dell gave you,
    reason bieng is you cant only install one you have to install
    the whole 'suite' which could be the problem IF your not using
    all the discs that were included.

    What I would do Is write down my XP serial for the windows
    that came with the dell.
    Then I would look for the same operating system that you have
    the serial for.
    (Xp-pro xp-MCE xp-home) ect....
    You can find and download it easily on bit-torrent software
    Then you can install a 'fresh' copy of windows,
    without all the add-on dell stuff.

    You may need some drivers off the original disks though,
    so hold on to them just in case.

    Good luck

     
  15. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    Retro78, don't make me slap you with Windows ME again... ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2006
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    fiend, why not use win95 to slap him or even windows 3!!
     
  17. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    Cause WinME is a standard slap in NNSCRIPT ddp, besides, i feel i've already slapped Retro with enough other things on ad_buddies as is :)
     
  18. tocool4u2

    tocool4u2 Guest

    Slap him with UBuntu
     
  19. rihgt682

    rihgt682 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Is anyone actully gonna help rather than telling me i'm stupid.
     
  20. tocool4u2

    tocool4u2 Guest

    Well if no one can help you with your problem you could either go out and buy a new XP disk

    Or

    Which i personally think is best...Is Linux!!!!!
    IT is completely free and they have user friendly distros you If you don't want to install it to your HDD they have Live CD's
     

Share This Page