1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X-Box,360, PS3, VHS, Other all to video.

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by coachJ, May 22, 2005.

1. coachJ

coachJ Guest

OK I am new to Video Editing and would like to jump all in. I want to take video from game systems - initial thought was to tape to VHS and then move to the PC but I read the quality isn't that good. Sohere are my goals and then a couple questions.

I want to take video from my game systems directly to my PC. I will then want to edit it using Reverse, Slow motion, Voice and music over, occasional special efects, and more. Then want to Upload to the internet and / or burn to DVD. Occasionaly I will need to from VHS to the PC and from a video Cam to the PC.

I have been doing a bit of homework and have picked out the parts I need to build my system but I still have some questions on the capture device. (Here is the syten if you wanna see the whole thing http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/193609)

What do I need for input I have found 2 products that sound like they will do the job. My question is do I need both? If not what one and why? Is there something better I should look at?

1. PINNACLE Studio MovieBox Deluxe version 9 USB2.0 Interface USB Video Editing Box - Retail
    Model #: 210100429
    $180.99 http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16814144029

2. Hauppauge 980 PCI Interface TV Tuner Card - Retail
    Model #: 980
    $140.00 http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16815116602

Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2005
  2. Minion

Minion Senior member

I personally wouldn"t go for either of those Capture devices especially the Pinnacle Movie Box which from what I hear is supposed to be Just awefull.....I would only go for the Hauppague Card if it was a Hardware Mpeg-2 encoder but you can get a Better one for cheaper Like this one:

Tul Theater 550 PRO TV Tuner