1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

x264, XviD, and DivX which is CURRENTLY the best?

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by steve7777, Oct 19, 2005.

1. steve7777

steve7777 Member

Hello,

I've been on a quest for the best way to preserve near DVD quality videos on my PC for many months now. Not being sombody who works in the this field (I am a student in Finance) I have very little knowledge of matrices, B-Frames, and all of the more advanced jargon.

Anyway, I've narrowed the 3 codec that should be used for performing a good quality compression of MPEG2 video (DVD). x264, XviD and DivX. Which one features the BEST quality? and equaly important is whose impelmentation of the format is best? (for example, XviD has been remodeled by celtic, a member here and Koepi another person...)

Equally important are the SPECIFIC settings that you use with each encoder to ensure better quality (like using VHQ level 4 for XviD).

I look forward to hearing from your answers.

steve7777

2. DVDBack23

DVDBack23 Administrator Staff Member

Well, i cant say from experience as I dont encode much, but most dvd rips are encoded with Xvid as that seems to be the codec of choice for the best quality.

3. celtic_d

celtic_d Regular member

All I really do is compile it. About the only mod I ever did was to include extra profiles for MTK based standalones.

x246 really won't give you any better quality than XviD, however it should be able to achieve it at a smaller filesize. Also, if you plan on using ffdshow for playback then CQM's are a no no for x264 for now. You really need Ateme's latest decoder or to wait until Nero gets updated with it or ffdshow gets updated.

DivX I would say is at the bottom in terms of what quality it can achieve. There is a difference between theoretical quality and the quality that each codec can achieve when contstrained to a given size though.