1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox erroe 16/error 14 help!!!

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by Smoblikat, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So,
    I softmodded my xbox with unleashX years ago and i just recently found it and started tinkering with it again. But in unleashX i found an option that said go to MSDash, when i clicked on it it said ERROR:Could not locate C:\msdash.xbe. So i found something called xboxdash and figured it was msdash, i renamed xboxdash to msdash and rebooted and promptly recieved error 14. I tried using xboxHDD tool 1.9 to fix it but once i get into the vga console and try to rename files on HDD it says "Could not locate linux disc, please insert it and try again". I have no idea what it means, and now i have error 16, which i found out means that the clock has died so now it REALLY wont boot. Also im having trouble unlocking My xbox HDD, these are the steps i do:
    1. Open xbox
    2. Get computer paused before it tries to recognize HDD's
    3. Unplug DVD drive power cord
    4. Start box
    5. Wait a few seconds then unplug IDE on xbox HDD
    6. Plug in my PC ide to the HDD
    7. unpause BIOS

    After a long time it shows my box HDD but it is flashing red so i think its still locked and i dont know what im doing wrong to unlock it.
    I have NO modchip all i have is softmodded unleashX.

    Tried these tuts already:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/203286
    http://www.xbox-hq.com/html/xbox-tutorials-161.html

    And maybe a few more but the thing that stops me is the stupid xboxhdm says "Please insert linux disc". No idea what that even means CLEARLY there is a disc in my comp otherwise how the hell would it load?

    I dont have a backup of EEPROM or anything like that, but i do have another HDD i can rebuild if nesscary.
    If any more info is needed just ask. thanks for any and all help given.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010
  2. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Desperate BUMP
     
  3. ps355528

    ps355528 Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    now this all depends how it is modded....... and what the paths in the dash config file say

    right now it's looking for C:\msdash.xbe .. which probably isn't right.. they can be a couple of different names depending on how the box has been exploited.. and in your idiocy you have renamed the dash file instead of changing the PATH in the dash config file for the entry.. hence screwing it all up.

    your hotswap procedure shows you haven't read properly.. (it's very obvious that you haven't understood what you may have read at all)

    unplug dvd drive and start up .. WAIT for error12 to appear on the screen THEN swap the drive. It's unlocked at e12 .. not before .. IF you don't have the video cable plugged in the box will never boot and unlock the drive.. so you need it plugged into a tv to see when the error comes up..

    mine are all chipped (valuable boxes.. 1.1's with samsung 605b drives.. halo clear green (1st series) and DOAXBV blue edition) so worth spending the money on.

    also learn some patience.. most of us can't be arsed replying to the same old stupid problems we were dealing with 7 years ago and have answered thousands of times before.. I'm harsh.. because you have no idea how many times we have seen this exact same problem... I spent 4 weeks MAKING error16 boxes and curing them to find out all the different ways it could be caused, which softmods did what.. and which ways would fix the fault easily. Findings were all posted to a site which is now long gone.. You are dealing with an obsolete piece of hardware.. you will find everything ever written online.. including how to fix the results of stupidity :)
     
  4. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the response, and i completely understand the "harshness" of your writing. I have seen questions similar to this hundreds of times before, but none of them are EXACTLY like mine, because i have a unique problem, much like other problems. Any idea on how to fix xboxHDM linux disc.
     
  5. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ugh i did that and now i get error 7, no error 12? what should i do?
     
  6. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  7. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    BUMPPPP!!!!
     
  8. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    FOR fusks SAKE BUMP BUMP BUMP!!!!
     
  9. Modboxer

    Modboxer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  10. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    BUMBYYYY
     
  11. Modboxer

    Modboxer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  12. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how will that help me?
    I already know all the codes and what they do, all i need is someone to help me out with the problems i am having, and i already read all 3 tuts.
     
  13. Modboxer

    Modboxer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, well, try using this tut :
     
  14. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK i read it and i think i might be having problems with my computer, i only have 1 ATA port on my comp, so should i unplug my other SATA Drives begfore trying to hot swap?
     
  15. Modboxer

    Modboxer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh, no. You need an older PC. One ATA for the DVD drive 1 for the xbox (normally for the PC HDD)
     
  16. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Damn, is there ANY other way to do it with only 1 IDE port?
     
  17. Modboxer

    Modboxer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    sorry buddy
     
  18. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks anyway :(
     
  19. Modboxer

    Modboxer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You could TRY using SATA to IDE adapter?

    Just a, thought
     
  20. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    :( no i think its time to give up on this amazing machine, its too bad my POS computer is too good
     

Share This Page