1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBOX hard drive Master/cable select settings..

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by Motomatt, Apr 28, 2004.

  1. Motomatt

    Motomatt Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I was talking to a friend the other day that installed a new 120 gig in his XBOX. He claims he set his new drive to "cable select" and then installed it.I told him that was wrong and needed to be set to "master". Then I looked at my old original XBOX hard drive that came out of mine and it was set to "cable select". Everything I have read say's to set this to "master". I know the difference between these two settings, but my question is this. Does it matter which setting you use? Because it does work both ways without any problems.. But everyone else says this has to be set to master for it to work..

    Matt
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2004
  2. shdwsfall

    shdwsfall Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have always read to set it to CS.
     
  3. ShadowNyt

    ShadowNyt Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have also always used cable select - Master may work depending on what the DVD drive is set to - if that is also cable select or master then you would have possible problems.

    The xbox is a PC so pretty much same rules apply as with IDE ports.
     
  4. djboogie

    djboogie Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I tried both and they both seemed to work.
    But yea you guys are right, the default setting is cable.
     
  5. dyingtrst

    dyingtrst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    it wouldnt really matter for either or, cable just selects it for the first open spot, so therefore it would actually be setting it to master. ;)
     

Share This Page