1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XFX 8600GT Lockups

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by MUNKYEARS, Mar 13, 2008.

  1. MUNKYEARS

    MUNKYEARS Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just got new XFX 8600gt core is running at factory speed of 540Mhz.
    well i wanted to know what temperature it should be running at.

    idle: 41-43 degrees
    Playing Intensive games like Crysis: 48 degrees
    well my Pc locks up after about 10 mins of crysis all on medium spec. i even tried running 3Dmark06 on it after 5 hours of been turned off and locks up on second graphics test. i dont know what the problem is??

    can anyone help me?

    My specs are:
    Cpu: Celeron D 3.06Ghz Overclocked to 3.83Ghz with adequate cooling
    Graphics: XFX 8600GT 512mb running at 540Mhz
    Ram: 1.5Gb
    Hdd: 80Gb
    PSU: 400W i might upgrade... Graphics Card Requires 350W min
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2008
  2. Grimstar

    Grimstar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can your RAM handle that overclock?

    Also, did you make sure your PCI-E Frequency is locked in at 100mhz?
     
  3. MUNKYEARS

    MUNKYEARS Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how do i check that my PCI-E is locked in at 100Mhz??

    Im Using Riva Tuner and ATItool

    The Ram Is fine my friends 8800 runs fine with the exact same memory

    he ordered two lots one set for him and one for me.... his is running crysis no prob, obviously due to his 8800

    my PSU is budget as well i need a new one can you recommend one??
    price from £20 - £50/ $40 - $100
     
  4. Grimstar

    Grimstar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I meant can your ram handle the cpu overclock...the ram overclocks at the same time. Your bios should show the default speed and the speed it's currently running at. A good way to test your ram is to download memtest and run it for a few hours. Memtest is something you have to burn to a CD and use as a boot disc. It will run different sequences of numbers through your memory to make sure it can handle an overclock. If the test fails at any time then your memory can't handle the overclock.

    PCI-E Frequency is also a setting in your bios. It might be set to auto, which has the potential to increase with an overclock as well and fry your video card in time...

    Perhaps you should try underclocking your video card and see if it still crashes.

    As for power supplies go...I'm personally using

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341010

    I have an overclocked Q6600 and HD2900XT along with the other usual things and it handles it well. You probably don't need one that big though...perhaps something like:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153052

    Gives you a little breathing room as well.
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Your CPU is too weak for Crysis, even overclocked, but that shouldn't cause you crashes. Your PSU is what I'd point at, 400W is fine for those specs, but if it's a cheap unit, it's more like 150W, they lie about the specs a lot on cheap units. Buy a Corsair VX 450W and then see what happens.
     
  6. MUNKYEARS

    MUNKYEARS Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @Grimstar im going to download that asap and will post results so i can see what you make of it

    @Sammorris, i might upgrade to either a pentium 4 or Dual core processor. i could play crysis medium-ish on a lower spec card and had no problems running it and the processor ran well at stock i know that 3.00Ghz is minimum but my spec feels higher for some reason

    Corsair VX 450W seems a fair price i might go ahead and buy that.
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,336
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Get something like an E2160 CPU, they're dirt cheap, but they're dual cores, they're faster than the best of the P4s even at stock, and they overclock like mad.
     
  8. MUNKYEARS

    MUNKYEARS Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Will do, Thanks for your help guys
     

Share This Page