1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XviD conversion using AutoGK ...... Confused,Please help!!!!

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by ripper2k4, Apr 29, 2004.

1. ripper2k4

ripper2k4 Member

I am a newbie ( a week old ;) ) to this encoding stuff. I am using auto GK which is really easy.

I started out by encoding a movie (2hr 38min long) using AutoGK 1.19b and XviD RC4 1.0 codec.
    I understand that good quality means highest possible resolution+bitrate for given size.
    The Auto GK guide says that "Auto width" in advanced settings gives best quality.
    But i tried that and weirdly autoGK settles on some very low resolution (416x208). I tried manual width settings and the bitrate seems to be constant ... so how is this possible? i go on increasing resolution and still bitrate remains constant. am i missing something here?
    The movie quality looks the same in all the 3 cases(atleast to my eye), except for the size difference.

Please help. It would be nice if ppl can tell me how they approach this encoding job to get a good quality xvid file.

Here's what i got (file details using gspot):
    AVI File Details
    ========================================
    Filesize.....: 1,400 MB
    Runtime......: 02:38:37
    Video Codec..: XviD
    Audio Codec..: ac3 (0x2000) Dolby Laboratories, Inc
    Audio Bitrate: 192 kb/s (96/ch, stereo) CBR

try1 (auto width)
    Video Bitrate: 1037 kb/s
    Frame Size...: 416x208 (2.00:1) [=2:1]

try2 (minimum width 576)
    Frame Size...: 576x288 (2.00:1) [=2:1]

try3 (minimum width 640)
    Frame Size...: 640x320 (2.00:1) [=2:1]

Last edited: Apr 29, 2004
  2. carguy696

carguy696 Guest