1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yo guys and gals :D im new to this and need some advice...

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware mods' started by hunter103, Nov 4, 2004.

1. hunter103

hunter103 Member

yo peeps

Right have an xbox motherboard, no hard drive, no DVD Rom, just the motherboard complete with powersupply and controller ports, case ect

i want to make it into a beast of a unit, maybee with a linux boot but first i need to know if i can actuly get it working with diffrent hard drives and roms, ive notaced the power supply for the rom is verry diffrent from a normal PC powersupply, and to add another rom to it i would need to split the power from the Hard drive cable over to the new rom,

i guess my questions are,

1 with what ive got is it worth even trying?
    2 can it be done?
    3 and how?

thanks for your time in reading this,

-Jim-

2. gtaxbox

gtaxbox Regular member

You can hook up a LARGE hard drive to it and make it into a gaming beast.. it's probly no good for linux with the processor. So get a modchip, stick a hard drive in.. no need to have a DVD just run all your games from the HD. A 120GB will hold about 50-60 games.

EDIT: You can use a powersplitter for the DVD Rom but remember PC drives can't read Xbox games.. you might wanna buy one off eBay, or just live with a HD.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]www.modder.ca - Mod Chips and Premods available locally in Toronto with shipping to all of North America.[/small]

Last edited: Nov 4, 2004
  3. hunter103

hunter103 Member

Thanks, i dont want to play xbox games on it, im looking to use it more as a very very mobile server (i do a lot of Moveing about, Lan Parties ect) is there any way possable i could use it under windows or linux as a server?

and when you mentioned before about storeing games on it are you talking about useing a OS to Orgonise this or does the modchip have its own bios menu that sorta operates as a OS?