1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Being Julia a problem for DVD Backup

Discussion in 'Video problems with Mac' started by jgthomas, Mar 31, 2005.

  1. jgthomas

    jgthomas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DVD Backup stopped after a few seconds into the first 1024 meg VOB. I also noticed the Windows utils had problems with this one. Think this is the new wave of copy protection we've been hearing about?
     
  2. bilbo65

    bilbo65 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No. I was able to copy it on my PC using my usual setup of AnyDVD and CloneDVD 2. That being said, some people have had problems. But it seems that some people have problems with almost any movie. Not all the same people or all the same movie. Interesting. I feel fortunate (*knocks on wood*) that I have been successful.
     
  3. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    This is a Sony movie so it has the new Sony Arcoss (sp?)
    copy protection that came out a few months ago.
    I used the latest AnyDVD w/ Nero Recode - no problem - play back fine.
     
  4. jgthomas

    jgthomas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've never had a problem with backing up movies before.

    Interesting. I guess I'll have to wait for the mac community to catch up to Sony.
     
  5. mediaguru

    mediaguru Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Mac The Ripper has been able do disable Arccos for months. Just use that.
     
  6. mima

    mima Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I used MacTheRipper 2.6.6.....it goes right into Full Disk ArCcos extraction and there were no problems.
     
  7. jgthomas

    jgthomas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the MTR tip, you guys.
     
  8. mrmoe

    mrmoe Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had a similiar problem in extracting "Being Julia"....the extraction finally succeded when I did a "main feature only arccos" extraction.....popcorn was used from there....
     
  9. samintx

    samintx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I had a terrible time with "Being Julia" and I'm not a newbie. Tried on Mac and PC. Several times. Nothing but problems
     
  10. mrmoe

    mrmoe Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    On the Mac: click the mode button in mtr and then select "main feature ARccOS" then use Popcorn.....this worked for me.
     
  11. jgthomas

    jgthomas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Here's a new Sony movie that seemed to be without arccos: The Merchant of Venice.
     
  12. samintx

    samintx Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Full Disk ArCcos in MTR....should I use this all the time? or just on Sony disks? Are other makers using it?
     
  13. mediaguru

    mediaguru Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    MTR is supposed to automatically switch into that mode. Sometimes it doesn't though. So if you run into those problems try it.
     

Share This Page