1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

convert a pal mkv to ntsc mkv

Discussion in 'Blu-ray players' started by bluraybie, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i was just wondering if some one could help me ive tryed everything and cant get this to workis their a guide i can use thanks
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Don't know if I can help - inasmuch as I'm not sure what you need.
    Mkv is a so called container - PAL and NTSC refer to the video standards in the EU and North America respectively (often mentioned when referring to movie DVD's).
    There isn't (AFAIK) a PAL MKV or an NTSC MKV.

     
  4. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok sorry your right its got a .h264 and a ac3 file and subs i read and read and no sucess yet i need to know all the programs to use and their settings please help
    thxs
     
  5. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    h264 - Use tsMuxeR, use the change FPS option... change to 24000/1001

    AC3 - Use eac3to, there are GUIs for this app... but none that can handle what you need to do.
    -download eac3to from here, not the Afterdawn link. Unzip it to an easily remembered location, link right on your C: drive.
    -extract your AC3 file using either tsMuxeR or mkvextractGUI, keep that in an easily remembered spot as well.
    -eac3to needs to be run as Command Line Prompt (Start Menu-->Run in XP) or (Start-->search CMD in Vista).

    Now, it's all about exact file locations with eac3to and CLP.
    -First you need to type the location of eac3o,
    -then then exact location of the source AC3 file,
    -then the exact location of where you want the new file to go,
    -then the "switches", these tell eac3to how to convert your source AC3 file.

    eg.
    Code:
    C:\eac3toFolder\eac3to.exe c:\videos\SourcePalAC3file.ac3 c:\videso\NewAC3file.ac3 -25.000 -changeTo23.976
    Notice the first "switch" (-25.000) this represents the source PAL frames per second, the second "switch" tells eac3to to change it to 23.976fps. This conversion will probably take close to one hour, it should need two passes to complete for good accuracy.

    Subs - Use Subtitle Workshop.
    -Open Subtitle workshop, on the left set the Input FPS to 25.
    -Load your SRT file, change the output FPS to 23.976, the timestamps will change right away.
    -"Save as" SubRip option, name to whatever you wish with the .srt extesion.

    All of this depends that the video stream is BD compliant resolution, 1920x1080 , or 1280x720. If it is anything else, or a variation of those the subs will not display properly, or at all. If this is the case your video will need to be recoded and resized.

    Put everything back together using tsMuxeR, mux to Blu-ray. This tutorial works for NTSC to PAL as well.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  6. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well i tried it this is what i got ive tried everything ac3machine beesweet they dont run right movie is faster then the audiojust by 4 sec maybe
    this is the error i get (AC3, 5.1 channels, 1:59:33, 384kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27db This audio conversion is not supported)

    thanks if you can help
     
  7. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
  8. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The default bitrate for AC3 encoding through eac3to is 640kb/s, your source file is 384kb/s. If you process the file again add -384 to the end of your command line, this will keep the same bit rate... but will still remove the "dialnorm", which is a good thing. If the -384 at the end of the command line doesn't work, place it before the -25.000 switch.

    Your new movie should be slightly longer than the PAL mkv, about 4% of the PAL runtime longer to be exact.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  9. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what would you do keep it a higher bitrate or do it again
     
  10. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I'd do it again, you may get funky results adding extra bitrate that shouldn't, or wasn't there in the first place.

    I edited my previous comment too.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  11. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thank you i will do that also i want to play this on my ps3 should i change the level form 5.1 to 4.1 like i read or is that lod now
    thats when i change frames on the .h264 in tsmuxer thanks
     
  12. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yeah, change the fps in tsMuxeR to 24000/1001 and you can change the level to 4.1. If you do not need subtitles you can play your PAL 25fps as m2ts on your NTSC PS3... if your hard work doesn't properly play you can try the 25fps m2ts (converted mkv through tsMuxeR).
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  13. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    omg you rock it worked not a singal flaw its sweet now i got to brun it to a blu ray bd-re any tips their i do know that you have to brun at udf 2.50 rite thaks for all your help
     
  14. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok i got it burned to the bd-re i hear the audio but get a black screen can you help with that
     
  15. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I have a feeling I know what it is... is your video 1080p? Could you please use this app on the source mkv to get this info from it and post it on this thread.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?ochgfxmjbzt

    Use the "Save to text" button at the bottom, then copy/paste here. Based on what I see I can tell you what's goin on.
     
  16. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    here it is you have this aswell all six i believe from what ive read
    thanks for your help



    General #0
    Complete name : C:\temp\4.mkv
    Format : Matroska
    File size : 7.95 GiB
    PlayTime : 1h 59mn
    Bit rate : 9513 Kbps
    Encoded date : UTC 2007-09-01 15:40:45
    Writing application : mkvmerge v2.0.2 ( built on Feb 6 2008 13:39:12
    Writing library : libebml v0.7.7 + libmatroska v0.8.1

    Video #0
    Codec : AVC
    Codec/Family : AVC
    Codec/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Codec profile : High@L5.1
    Codec settings, CABAC : Yes
    PlayTime : 1h 59mn
    Bit rate : 8742 Kbps
    Nominal bit rate : 9126 Kbps
    Width : 1920 pixels
    Height : 816 pixels
    Display Aspect ratio : 2.35
    Frame rate : 25.000 fps
    Chroma : 4:2:0
    Interlacement : Progressive
    Writing library : x264 - core 56 svn-667C
    Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=5 / deblock=1:-4:-4 / analyse=0x3:0x133 / me=umh / subme=6 / brdo=1 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=2 / deadzone=4,6 / chroma_qp_offset=0 / threads=3 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / wpredb=1 / bime=1 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40(pre) / rc=2pass / bitrate=9126 / ratetol=1.0 / rceq='blurCplx^(1-qComp)' / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.30 / zones=173169,179370,b=0.15 / aq=1:0.3:15.0
    Language : English

    Audio #0
    Codec : AC3
    PlayTime : 1h 59mn
    Bit rate mode : CBR
    Bit rate : 384 Kbps
    Channel(s) : 6 channels
    Channel positions : Front: L C R, Rear: L R, LFE
    Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
    Language : English

    Text #0
    Codec : UTF-8
    Codec/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
    Language : English

     
  17. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Notice the two lines I have highlighted, the resolution needs to be 1080 for AVCHD playback, however will play fine as m2ts on the PS3.

    The second one (ref=5), this is why your video is not playing. This value needs to be 4 or lower, unfortunately your only option is to recode the video, you can also add in the black widescreen bars to make is AVCHD compliant too (816-->1080), this will allow you to use subtitles.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2009
  18. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok so what program do i use to change the rez to 1080 re=4 i dont care about the subs thanks again
     
  19. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You can either use Ripbot264 or MeGUI/AviSynth. Here is a good thread with a lot of information, there is also a guide and applications needed for what you need to do bundled in one download.

    Thread

    Guide and applications download

    See what you can gather from the guide, I can help you more once you are set up.
     
  20. bluraybie

    bluraybie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well i read the guide HELP im runing ribot changed the rez to 1920x1080 and its saying it gona take 5 hours is that normal megui im lost . when i was using tsmuxer it only took 7 min to make a blu ray format be wrong rez thow but at least audio and video sync on the computer thanks for all your help

     
  21. odin24

    odin24 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yeah, it will take that long... should be longer but you must have a pretty powerful PC. Changing the rez to 1080 is OK, this will allow subtitles if you want them, it will not better, nor worsen the quality.

    Stick with Ripbot for now, if you like it them great... if not I teach you all about MeGUI... which is more of a hands on approach to doing the same thing as what Ripbot is doing.
     

Share This Page