1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

copying new games

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by drdenby, Dec 9, 2004.

  1. drdenby

    drdenby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I would never think of selling copied games or even giving them away. Games are expensive and I would like to make sure they last. I had no trouble copying earlier games and making another copy once the kids (and, yes, even I :), wore out a cd, lost one, got all scratched, etc.

    None of my copiers seem to work on the newest games and its frustrating since I know that if I dont copy it, the game will undoubtably suffer an expensive premature death.

    I have tried alcohol120, cdclone, nero, I keep getting that I must insert original disk not a backup.

    This happens with silent hill 2, leisure suit larry magma cum laude, and couple others I cant remember right this second, but I know i get the same message.

    Can someone help, please??

    thanks,
    Fred

     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What make/model burner are you using? Could you give us the specific settings for the softwares you used such as profiles, read/write speeds etc?


    Here's a thread you might find helpful:

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/117498

    Once we get more information we can take it from there and see if we can't get you cranking out some working copies :)
     
  3. drdenby

    drdenby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok the code i am trying to copy is
    SecuROM 5.03.06.0002

    I am using
    Lite-On 16X DVD Dual Drive, Model SOHW-1633S

    i used the settings it defaulted to except for the read/write/dumping which i set to the slowest

    i hope this helps. if there is more i will try to finde it. please keep in mind, i dont know what i am doing (well, to a point) but i do appreciate deeply all the help i can be given.

    Thanks,
    Fred
     
  4. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2004
  5. drdenby

    drdenby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried it exactly as described, adjusting only the read and write speeds on the tweaker to 4x since it was a cd.

    BW appeared to read,extract, write ok.

    But the burnt copy still results in a message saying to insert the original disk and not a backup.

    what should i do?
     
  6. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  7. drdenby

    drdenby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    First, I want to thank you for the help.

    Ok. with the test, I successfully burnt and copied back to the hard drive the sd251.dat.

    The sheep3.dat and bad.dat files failed with the cyclic redundancy messages.

    I am confused as to whether this is ok or not.

    what does it mean please?

    thanks,
    Fred
     
  8. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    As I understand it the failures of those two files indicate that your drive isn't EFM capable which is bad news for making working backups and explains why your previous backups aren't working.

    At this point I believe your best option would be to use Alcohol for your backups and enable all the emulation options. I'm not a frequent user of A120 so I'll give pollushon a pm and see if he can give you some pointers.

    Another option would be to use Daemon Tools to "mount" the images on your hard drive so you can play them without needing a disc. Here's a link to Daemon Tools' site where they have really good instructions on its use.

    http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/portal/daemonhelp.php
     
  9. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    with your game inserted select my computer and look at the drive that your game is in, if it says "NEEDS EMULATION" then do as listed,

    [​IMG]

    Go down to options and select "Emulation" as shown.

    [​IMG]

    Enable RMPS (Recordable media physical signature) and after clicking ok you can close Alcohol. This is a one of task and you dont need to disable or enable this again.

    [​IMG]

    You are now ready to play your backups.


     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2004
  10. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Nice work geestar! I plum forgot you were a A120 guru as well :)
     
  11. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    im in covert ops.=)
     
  12. drdenby

    drdenby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, I just ran a game off of a copied cd. IT WORKS!

    Thanks. Ok, just to make sure I understand what alcohol was saying while using it. I need to buy alcohol to play the games, right?


    Fred
     
  13. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    YUP, cause you need emulation to play.
     
  14. pollushon

    pollushon Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I recommend A120% as a must own. However if your strapped, freeware such as Daemon tools will do the trick.
     
  15. drdenby

    drdenby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I will keep that in mind. If, at the end of the alcohol trial period, I am unable to reinstall it or still strapped for the cash, I will learn to use the daemon tools, too.

    Thanks,

    Fred
     

Share This Page