1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning with Toast

Discussion in 'Video problems with Mac' started by marquis78, Jul 31, 2004.

1. marquis78

marquis78 Member

I too have searched high and low and don't think anyone has asked my question. I am new to the ripping and burning world on Mac and to the MacWorld in general. I just bought a 15" G4 Powerbook with a Superdrive. I use Mac the Ripper to rip the DVD, DVD2OneX to shrink it and then Toast 6 (I think) to burn and it doesn't give any errors but when it finishes, it won't play on my Panasonic DVD player sayin it doesn't read that kind of disc (I have Memorex DVD-Rs by the way) and it won't play on my Superdrive stating that it could not detect a valid media file. It will play the ripped DVD from my hard drive after using Mac the Ripper and after using DVD2OneX but I'm not sure what the deal is. Could it be a problem with the DVDs I bought? Or does anyone recognize the problem as something else? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. Londor

Londor Guest

You have to burn as Data/DVD-ROM (UDF).

Create a new folder and name it as you want the DVD to be called. Drop in the VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS folders. Now drag the folder onto the Toast window. If Toast adds a .DS_Store file remove it. Press the red button to burn it.

Make sure you only use DVD-R and not DVD-RW, DVD+R or DVD+RW.

3. marquis78

marquis78 Member

I am definetelly using DVD-Rs so that's ok. I've also been doing it as a Data/DVD-ROM. There are no extra .DS folders in what's being burned so scratch that too. I didn't put it an audio folder so when I tried it with the blank audio folder I got an error about halfway through the burning process that said
    The drive reported an error:
    Sense Key = HARDWARE ERROR
    Sense Code = 0x03, 0x01

If that makes any sense or if you have a suggestion, I am greatly appreciative.

4. Londor

Londor Guest

Try this