1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Desktop pics (NO flesh pics though)

Discussion in 'Safety valve' started by geestar20, Feb 5, 2005.

  1. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I keep Adobe Creative Studio on my XP custom built machine for Video Editing ;)

     
  2. Domreis

    Domreis Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Final Cut Studio on my Mac ;p
     
  3. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    They both work well enough. Of course it cost me half as much for a much better computer, which incidentally also happened to have MacOSX Leopard Installed(never used it though, lol).

    Of course I sold that computer and now I use a lowly celeron D, in which making a DVD takes like three hours lol.
     
  4. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    a pic of my TinyMe machine (Quad boot)
    http://i.my.afterdawn.com/original/18191.jpg

    in fact here's a post from another thread while i'm at it..

    This is a stock desktop pic from my Dell quad-boot Linux machine (XP with 3 similar linuxes ie TinyMe test release 7, Mandriva 2008.0 and MiniMe 2008); pic is from the 'TinyMe' boot-up. Note the conky system monitor, i've tweaked it to correctly show both cores.

    Core 2 Duo 2.13 with 4GB RAM, 160GB SATA-II drive, internal DVD-Rom and 3 USB2.0 attached opticals - my trusty 5yr old LG 4480B and a couple Benq DW1650's. No need for a graphics card as the onboard graphics can easily manage my preferred resolution of 1440x900. Still using the onboard sound with Logitech X-230's.

    [​IMG]

    I tried upgrading TinyMe to the recently released 2008.0 version and also Mandriva to the new 2008.1 but my linux skills are a tad rusty and haven't got much spare time lately so for now i've put TinyMe test release 7 back on and Mandriva can keep. There's problems with the TinyMe ISO's out there from what i've been reading so i'll wait 'til they've ironed out all the problems (or just stick with Test release 7 as it's stable enough).
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2008
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Frozen bubble 2 eh?
     
  6. Domreis

    Domreis Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    My Mac Cost $1649
    Intel Core 2 Extreme 2.4GHz Penryn
    4GB of Ram
    Nvidia Geforce 8600GT 512MB
    8X DVD Burner
    250GB Hard Drive
    Plus a Free Photo Printer
    and a Free iPod Nano
    Dreamweaver & PhotoShop - Free

    Thats a pretty darn good deal.
    Oh yeah... I can run Windows and Mac Side by side at the SAME TIME....

    Tell me thats not a good deal.... In my opinion Adobe Creative Studio isn't comparable to Final Cut studio!

    Oh yeah... Lucky me... I dont have to worry about Viruses... I am just thinking of all the money I saved not having to get virus protection! LOL....

    Don't get me wrong... I love Windows XP, but there are just somethings my Mac can do that an XP machine can't... True XP is better some tasks than a Mac, but for me Mac OS X is the best option!

    Now Vista is another story!
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    An extreme at only 2.4Ghz? Didn't know such a thing existed...

     
  8. Domreis

    Domreis Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Thats how apple classifies the Processor on it's website... Give me a bit and I'll look up the model # of the chip
     
  9. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    My machine cost me 850:

    Q6600 at 3.6Ghz
    2GB of RAM(could have upgraded to 4Gb for 50 More)
    16X Sata DVD Burner
    8800GT ONE GB(I guess this card is about 4 times faster than a 8600GT)
    250GB Seagate SATA HDD
    Thermaltake Armor Case

    Now you have to Admit, that's a pretty darn good deal. Oh and I never got any viruses, and I don't use ANY virus or spyware protection.

    Alright, let's not have PC vs Mac fight lol.
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No, the PC wins... lol
    Nah joking aside, this isn't the place for that.
     
  11. Domreis

    Domreis Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I don't really care what you choose to use... If you are a gammer great get a PC... But FOR me a Mac is the best option....

    I love, and Standby my MacBook Pro....
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
  13. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
  14. Domreis

    Domreis Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  15. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I was never running Vista!

    Also, after SP1, I would take Vista over Leopard anyday :)

    And I've used every single on a decently powerful computer.
     
  16. engage16

    engage16 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You took that? All I got to say is that picture is FREAKING incredible! Your lucky to have taken such a picture...
     
  17. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yeah, I have to say That picture is INCREDIBLE. Just getting those effects in real life, you must have been a lucky person to be there.
     
  18. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,770
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I guess you have to be a member at ImageShack to see the picure. I sure don't remember that being the case before.
     
  19. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,355
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    118
    No, you just have to put that exact link in the box - if you hover over the link that's in a quote, afterdawn's put garbage at the end of it.
     
  20. engage16

    engage16 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

Share This Page