1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DTS to AC3 help

Discussion in 'Blu-ray players' started by cshaip, Aug 1, 2008.

1. cshaip

cshaip Member

I am having a difficult time converting DTS to AC3 while trying to rip "Hitman." I'm trying to stream the movie to the PS3. Video looks great but no sound. I have tried following the guides for using Dts2Ac3 and for using a combination of Foobar and Aften. I cannot get Dts2Ac3 to work at all (command prompt screen disappears in under 1 second when I try). I have spent hours reading and searching for a solution for this but can't seem to get anything to work. I am a complete Noob when it comes to Blu Ray so I'm sure I'm doing something wrong. Can someone point me toward a guide or either explain the process in detail?

2. cshaip

cshaip Member

I should also add that I'm trying to convert to AC3 5.1. I found a guide that used ffdshow but it was only for 2 channel sound.

3. odin24

odin24 Regular member

It is really easy. You need one application and it's GUI. It's called eac3to and eac3toGUI, download both of them here.

eac3to

eac3toGUI

Download and unzip the eac3to zip file, then do the same for the GUI... except unzip the GUI into the eac3to file folder.

Before you convert you need to configure the GUI, basically you need to point the GUI to the exe file, which is all in the same folder. Open the GUI-->settings-->eac3to location, find the location where you unzipped everything and select the eac3to.exe file.

Now, on to the conversion.

1. Load your DTS file
    2. select your kb/s, this should be 640kb/s
    3. Select your Force Filter, unless you have others installed use Libav
    4. Convert.

Done! Enjoy.

4. cshaip

cshaip Member