1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DuoX2 trouble

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware boot discussion' started by P_AenimA, Oct 27, 2007.

1. P_AenimA

P_AenimA Member

Hi,
    I am a modding noob.... and I am stuck. I have read a number of tutorials and how to's; however I seem to have overlooked something.
    I am running an 1.4 machine and I purchased 2 DuoX2 chips. I rebuilt the pin header (this part was cake though I don't recommend anyone else try it with a butane powered soldering Iron, hehe). Powered up the Box and "Holy Rusted Metal Batman" it works. Boots right into Xecuter FlashBIOS 3.0.3.
    So... I tried burning BIOS CDs with no luck and then I put the thing aside while I was moving. Six months go by and then I pull the whole thing back out again and finally discover the network flash utility.
    Ok, maybe I should have found this sooner but nothing else about this looked simple so why would this part be. I was astounded that there was a web interface and quickly proceeded to try and upload a Cromwell 2.4 image onto the thing...
    This is where things get bad... So (it had been six months) I remembered that the Chip had 1024k of space, what I had forgotten is that not all of it was available to any one side of the Bios. The load screen got to half and stopped. I waited like 10 minutes and It was still stopped. Powered it down and then back up... nothing. just a black screen. Still boots into TSOP just fine but no DuoX2 functionality.
    Chip #2, fortunately I had a spare and I figured out my mistake, or so I thought. Went and repeated this procedure and uploaded the 256k version of Cromwell 2.4. This time everything completes like it is supposed to and powers down on its own. Go to turn it on and... same as the last one.
    So, the questions...
    Did I just get a bad BIOS.bin file?
    Did I skip some vital step?
    Should I just give up and go commit Haru Kari?