1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Error in DVD description" please help!

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by EliisaH, Aug 2, 2006.

1. EliisaH

EliisaH Member

Hi there,

I'm very new to DVD burning, but I'm learning quickly, and have found your site quite helpful. So here's the thing. I'm trying to burn some television program episodes onto DVD. I am using Verbatim DVD+R DL 8.5 GB disks. My problem seems to be selecting the "DVD-9" option under disk type, rather than DVD. I can write one episode at a time if I just select DVD (4GB), but I have these dual-layer DVDs and would love to be able to put two episodes on each.

The type of data I'm trying to burn is merged .VOB files. I am trying to put two video files (two episodes) on the disk, each of which contains two merged .VOB files. Each video file is approximately 3.5 GB. So I can put the video files on disks one at a time if I select the DVD option, but it appears that I should be able to fit two video files on the same dual layer disk. And indeed the program seems to think so too until the end!

Of course I don't know if this is the problem or if there is something else going on, but whenever I select DVD-9 as my disk option and then try to put things on it (never more than the disk can hold), it lets me get all the way to the burning process. Then, when it looks like it's almost done (after usually about an hour and a half), it stops, with the following error:

"Unable to prepare data for recording: Error in DVD description"

The only thing I can think is that it's the specification of DVD-9 in the initial page, but aren't the disks I have DVD-9s? Is there anything I can do to fix this problem, or should I just forget it and go get some regular DVDs and be done with it?

I'd appreciate any help you could give me.

Here are some specs for my machine:
    Plextor PX-750A DVD burner
    Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.06 GHz