1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Full Guide to Gamecube Backup/Booting

Discussion in 'Nintendo Gamecube - General discussion' started by Icemonkey, Dec 12, 2003.

  1. crzyfl

    crzyfl Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Finally a question where the poster read the thread first!
    I think your problem is due two a combination of media and laser potential.
    Look on the net for the guide to laser potential tweaking, decrease it in increments of say, 20 until you get a result. If this dosen't work for you then it is due to media. You do have a mod chip/softmod right? (if not then you must get one)
     
  2. crzyfl

    crzyfl Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    sorry reread post and it is obvious you have a mod
     
  3. Techsx

    Techsx Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Im still stuck in Step 1, Finding the right chip.

    Im deciding between the Qoob Pro and the Viper GC Extreme.

    The Qoob seems to be the popular one, but you will need a BBA (broadband adapter) to connect to pc in order to make backups of games. The USB port on the Qoob is only used to flash the BIOS.

    However the Viper GC Extreme everything is done using the USB port, elimiating the need for the BBA.

    Sounds like the Viper GC Extreme is less complicated, but how come noone has it?
     
  4. damnname

    damnname Guest

    I have a ViperGC, it works great.

    Can someone help me out though?

    Kay, I've got the ViperGC, I've got some games (burned, friends) How do I create a copy of these already burned games?
     
  5. talion78

    talion78 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok...........decided to go for the MAX DRIVE PRO softmod method. I know it's a pain in the arse switching disks all the time, but didn't have to take my gamecube apart........and probably break it.

    So been burning games nicely 18 and counting all working fine.

    This question is in regards to a game.

    I've burned "StarFox Assault" run the game, but it doesn't get past the screen where it says loading. Has anyone else burnt this game? If yes did it work fine?

    All my other backup games work fine, this is the first to fail. Want too see if it's shit disk, or the game just doesn't run as a backup.

    Cheers
     
  6. shank69ox

    shank69ox Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah, thats game works fine. I backed it up a few months ago, and my kids still play it.
     
  7. deathgod

    deathgod Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    games crash on my PC
     
  8. deathgod

    deathgod Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have the newest PC on the market and I think when niphin comes out it is gonna be good because dolphin sucks with internet isos
     
  9. talion78

    talion78 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Datasafe mini-dvd-r x4 1.4gb

    I bought so far 6 packs each of a spindle of 10.

    When putting these through nero to burn games 3 entire spindles (not just the odd disk) reads as not 1.4gb but 1.392gb???? This makes it impossible to burn a gamecube .iso on. Has anyone else come across this problem with Datasafe mini-dvd-r's ar are they just shit!!!

    If they are the latter can anyone suggest some Mini-DVD's that work well 90% of the time (better ratio than 50%)?
    Can you also give me a link of a site that sells these within the UK?

    P.S. if someone wants to buy 30 Datasafe Mini-DVD's your lucks in I have some :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2006
  10. _mario64

    _mario64 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I would want to stream a iso from pc to gc,with the PSO method.
    With the GC Disc Server i can upload the loader.dol file ,the GC starts executing it,and i see a black screen with a gray message wich says "INITIALISING..."
    From now on,the iso file should start uploading from pc to gc,but it doesn't :(
    In fact,i see the HD led always off,which means that the hd is not being read.

    I don't think the problem is the packet frequency and delay,because they are set to delay=20 and frequency=16 (and cache=4)
    In the worst case there will be some packet loss in the gamecube side,but at least the file would be streamed from pc.

    Could someone tell me what i've done wrong?
     
  11. poomong

    poomong Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is it possible to rip gamecube images with a backup copy of phatasy star? (on a chipped machine, obviously)
     
  12. deathgod

    deathgod Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Read the first post duh
     
  13. andrewcmp

    andrewcmp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have a gc viper chip extreme and i already have the bios but when i click on write on the loader an error note apears and says usb cable not detected please help
     
  14. yuzaki

    yuzaki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    can someone help me plz i had a error burning the pokemon xd that is 1,425,760mb and it a .gcm, can i instantly change the .gcm to iso or not and my burner is a asus type. and i did the change to iso if i burn it it got an error what should i do? and my GC is already modified and it can run burnt mini-dvd that i bought.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2006
  15. cubico

    cubico Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  16. yuzaki

    yuzaki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thx...and what kind of mini dvd is required?
     
  17. cubico

    cubico Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I Have Used Many Types Of Brands Of mini DVD-R, Funnily Enough, The Brands That Appeared The Worst Actually Performed Better, By That I Mean They Were Either Poorly Packaged And/Or Had A Generic Brand Name.
    You Know That You Are On The Right Path If You Are Paying Around 80 Cents U.S Per Disc!
    At The Moment I Am Using 'Data Bank' Discs.
    I Hope This Helps Somehow.
    BTW, I Have Over 200 Working Games, Including The SNES And NES Emulators,
    Both With All Of The Games Ever Made Respectively For Each Console.
    Amazing To Think That They All Fit Perfectly On One mini DVD-R!
    See Ya.
    If Anyone Wants The ed2k Link For Either Of Those Images Please MSN Or Email Me:

    i'manidiot.com edited by ddp
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2006
  18. yuzaki

    yuzaki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what speed is best for running a backup disk 1x or 2x
     
  19. talion78

    talion78 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I always burn mine at 2x and had no problems, you can do it at 1x if stuff goes wrong.
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,118
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    cubico, read the forum rules above about posting, emails & piracy as piracy is not condoned on this site. post edited
     

Share This Page