1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Sense key=MEDIUM ERROR

Discussion in 'Video problems with Mac' started by hapdog, Dec 2, 2005.

  1. hapdog

    hapdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    (Note to Mods: I've duplicated this thread in the PS2 Forum, as I wasn't sure the best place for it. Please delete if deemed necessary.)

    =

    Hello everyone. I’m having a few problems burning on my imac G5. It’s the new 20” one with frontrow and isight (if that matters).

    If anyone has any suggestions I’d really appreciate it.

    Ok. I’m trying to backup PS2 games using toast 7. I’m using Ritek g04 DVD-Rs (4x), and am fairly sure they’re authentic. Fom reading other posts around here I think I’m pressing the right button in toast (the big red one :D ). I’m trying to burn at 4x.

    The problem is that shortly after the dvd starts to burn, I get the following error message:

    [bold]The drive reported an error:
    Sense key=MEDIUM ERROR
    Sense code=0x73, 0x03[/bold]

    Now I think that this means my mac isn’t too fond of the Riteks, but I’d love to know if anyone else has had similar problems, and if they managed to fix it. I’m having the same message flash up when I try to burn DVDs too.

    Do G5’s dislike Riteks? Is it toast 7? Am I doing something wrong?

    Any suggestions would be really appreciated. If there’s another kind of media that you think might be a safer bet (might try verbatims next), then please let me know.

    I apologise in advance if this has been answered elsewhere in these forums - if it has I couldn't spot where.

    Thanks!
     
  2. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    riteks should be fine..

    but i would go with either verbatim or TY
     
  3. hapdog

    hapdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks man,

    I had a crack with Verbatims and everything seems to work as it should now.

    Looks like the dog now has 75 Ritek frisbees to play with :D
     
  4. mostoso

    mostoso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi hapdog

    I have the same problem using Verbatim.
    can you give me or told me where i can find this crack for the verbatims

    thank you

    mostoso
     
  5. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @mostoso...

    hapdog meant that as a joke.. that he took a chance with verbatim and it worked..

    in my sig.. you can find the link for dvd media inspector..
    run your verbatim thru that and find out what the MID is on that.

    you may have other issues....
     
  6. mostoso

    mostoso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks thelox714

    I was always using the verbatim without any problem, and now I have problems making backups of my ps2 games.

    It is possible that they put on the new verbatim an antycopy think??? so I can not copy them now???

    I am trying with the dvd decrypter with the virtual pc .....

    mostoso
     
  7. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    what is the MID that you are getting from decrypter?

    are you using the decrypter to burn?
     
  8. mostoso

    mostoso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the DVD media inspector say that he cannot suport my DVD drive : MATSHITA DVD-R UJ-815

    I am using the dvd decryter to decrypt the iso and trying to burn again with toast 7 on the verbatim.... I don't know if this will help.

    I was copying a lot of ps2 games with my drive and the verbatim's but now I can't and also I can't copy my own copies.

    maybe I need to clean the head ?????

    thanks
     
  9. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you may need to do that..

    if you are using decrypter.. and have the disc in the drive..

    go to iso-read..

    what is the media id on that...
     
  10. mostoso

    mostoso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what I need to do clean the head or use the dvd decrypter to make the iso and copy again?

    thanks

    on the iso read:

    Region: none - RCE Protection: no
    Copyright Protection System Type: none

    MS C/DVD-ROM 3.0 (ATA)
    Current Profile: DVD-ROM

    Disc Information:
    Status: Unknown
    Erasable: Unknown
    Formatted: Unknown
    Sessions: Unknown
    Sectors: 2,197,702
    Size: 4,500,893,696 bytes
    Time: 488:24:52 (MM:SS:FF)
     
  11. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    no.. instead of having the game in there.. put in the verbatim disk and read that..
     
  12. Simon201

    Simon201 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hapdog - if you're not doing it already it's probably best to make a Disk image of your PS2 disk and burn from that (rather than just using the 'copy' function of Toast). I've had reasonable success in the past although my PS2 is a bit old and seems to be fussy with the brand of disk that I burn to.

    Simon
     
  13. hapdog

    hapdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    First of all:
    Thanks to everyone for your help and advice.

    Second...
    Well, it was all working so well up until about a week ago. I was happily doing backups of PS2 games, using verbatims (4x speed) and then I started getting the following message in toast:

    [bold]"Couldn't complete the last command because there was an I/O error (your disc may be copy protected). Result Code = 36."[/bold]

    This appears even if I try to backup one of my backup dvds, so I know there's something rotten going on here. In adddition, toast now refuses to encode .avi files, meaning that I can't make normal dvds either (although I can't recall what excuse it comes up with when encoding avi's). It gets about 3/4 of the way through and then refuses to continue.

    Anyone else had similar probs?

    (imac G5 2.1, toast 7, verbatim 8/16x)

     
  14. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    nice new machine...

    do you have any encryped dvds or cds in the drive? it may be reading that..

    either that.. or check at an apple store on whats up with that.
     
  15. hapdog

    hapdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nope - the message pops up even if I try and backup and older ps2 backup.

    well, it was! :)
     
  16. ringham

    ringham Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    G5 imac, new in May of 2005, last one before builtin isight. 10.4.3, using toast 7, idvd from ilife 05, etc. Get ongoing burn error messages

    [bold] Sense Key = MEDIUM ERROR
    Sense Code = 0x73, 0x03 [/bold]

    SuperDrive will burn 1 or 2 discs with no problem, gets the error when hot. Will usually burn on the same media piece it errored on, as soon as drive cools down. Replaced the superdrive and thought the problem was fixed, but still happening. Don't think it is the media because it will burn correctly after it cools. Took me a while to figure out the coasters weren't coasters once the drive cooled down. Any suggestions?

    Same scenario with cd-r and dvd-r. Also happens with toast 6, toast 7, idvd, etc.
     
  17. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    what brand of media?
     
  18. vegasgirl

    vegasgirl Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi there,

    i have bee trying to burn a commercial dvd that i ripped with MTR and compressed with DVD REMASTER. i keep getting an error medium message on toast. what should i do??
     
  19. thelox714

    thelox714 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hey vegasgirl..

    what brand of dvds are using? dont buy the cheap stuff..
    check out this thread for the media sales this weekend..
    would highly recommend the verbatims at officemax..
    or the best buy sony's.. but on these.. make sure you get the ones that are made in japan.

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/303931
     
  20. vegasgirl

    vegasgirl Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    HI ,
    I tried using Verbatin DVD-R , Maxell 8x DVD-R and Fugifilm DVD+R. Nothing seems to work. I have burnt CD's without any problems- I don't know what I'm doing wrong!
     

Share This Page